Vuelta Femenina 2023: Leader Vos wins wind-swept race

Marianne Vos - Vuelta Femenina 2023: Leader Vos wins wind-swept racefoto: Cor VosThe 3rd stage takes place on the flattest route of the week. Echelons pep up the race big time before the action comes down to a sprint in La Roda. Marianne Vos wins the stage to cement her GC lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2023 Vuelta Femenina

1. Marianne Vos (nld)
2. Charlotte Kool (nld) s.t.
3. Chloé Dygert (usa) s.t.
4. Clara Copponi (ita) s.t.
5. Emma Norsgaard (den) s.t.
6. Tamara Dronova-Balabolina (rus) s.t.
7. Liane Lippert (ger) s.t.
8. Alba Teruel (spa) s.t.
9. Demi Vollering (nld) s.t.
10. Marlen Reusser (swi) s.t.

39. Silvia Persico (ita) + 1.32
72. Gaia Realini (ita) + 2.41

GC after stage 3
1. Marianne Vos (nld)
2. Chloé Dygert (usa) + 0.13
3. Riejanne Markus (nld) + 0.14
4. Anna Henderson (gbr) + 0.22
5. Amber Kraak (nld) s.t.
6. Elise Chabbey (swi) + 0.23
7. Kasia Niewiadoma (pol) s.t.
8. Lian Lippert (ger) + 0.32
9. Emma Norsgaard (den) + 0.34
10. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.

Race report
After 60 kilometres of full-on action the peloton splits in the crosswinds. All favourites – except Gaia Realini and Kristen Faulkner – are in the first group.

The second group is chasing at 1 minute for quite awhile untill it starts to come down in the last 55 kilometres. Which inspires Team DSM to up the pace in the first group, resulting in another split.

Vos gains 6 seconds in the intermediate sprint in Barrax, while Markus takes 4 and Lippert 2.

In the sprint for the stage win it is also Vos who prevails. The Dutch star extends her GC lead. Dygert sits in second, 13 seconds down.

Another interesting read: route 3rd stage 2023 Vuelta Femenina.

La Vuelta Femenina 2023 stage 3: route & profile

Click on the images to zoom

Marianne Vos

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Vuelta Femenina 2023: Raid brings van Vleuten red jersey, stage win Realini Vuelta Femenina 2023: Vollering wins mountain top finish to take red Vuelta Femenina 2023: Vos cements GC lead with new sprint win Vuelta Femenina 2023: Sprint triumph Kool, Vos takes La Roja Vuelta Femenina 2023: Jumbo-Visma wins TTT, first red jersey for Henderson Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 1: Torrevieja TTT Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 2: Orihuela - Pilar de la Horadada Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 3: Elche de la Sierra - La Roda Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 4: Cuenca - Guadalajara Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 5: La Cabrera - Riaza Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 6: Castro-Urdiales - Laredo Vuelta Femenina 2023 Route stage 7: Pola de Siero - Lagos de Covadonga Vuelta Femenina 2023 stage 1: Start times TTT Vuelta Femenina 2024: The Route Vuelta Femenina 2024: Riders La Vuelta Femenina: Records & winnersOverview
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!