UAE Tour 2023: Merlier again, Evenepoel stays in red

Tim Merlier - UAE Tour 2023: Merlier again, Evenepoel stays in redfoto: Cor VosTim Merlier sprints to his second victory on the 2023 UAE Tour at the breakwater north of Abu Dhabi. Sam Bennett and Dylan Groenewegen finish in second and third. Remco Evenepoel keeps the leader's jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2023 UAE Tour

1. Tim Merlier (bel)
2. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
3. Dylan Groenewegen(nld) s.t.
4. Olav Kooij (nld) s.t.
5. Fernando Gaviria (col) s.t.
6. Arvid De Kleijn (nld) s.t.
7. Sam Welsford (aus) s.t.
8. Gerben Thijssen (bel) s.t.
9. Emil Liepiņs (lit) s.t.
10. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.

GC after stage 6
1. Remco Evenepoel
2. Luke Plapp (aus) + 0.09
3. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 0.13
4. Stefan de Bod (rsa) + 1.03
5. Wout Poels (nld) + 1.06
6. Harm Vanhoucke (bel) + 1.12
7. Andreas Leknessund (nor) s.t.
8. Einer Rubio (col) + 1.13
9. Georg Steinhauser (ger) s.t.
10. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.14

Race report
Planckaert, Warbasse and Zoccorato attack from the gun. The trio rides to a 5 minutes lead before the peloton takes the reins, while they are caught just inside the last 7 kilometres.

Merlier powers to a commanding victory in the ensuing bunch sprint. The Belgian Champion outguns Bennett and Groenewegen, while his team mate Evenepoel stays in the overall race lead.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage 2023 UAE Tour.

UAE Tour 2023 – stage 6: route, profile, tweets

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - UAE Tour 2023 Overview - UAE Tour 2023 Yates wins on Jebel Hafeet, Evenepoel seals GC win - UAE Tour 2023 Sprint triumph Groenewegen, Evenepoel still leader - UAE Tour 2023 Sprint victory Molano, Evenepoel still leader - UAE Tour 2023 Solo win Rubio on Jebel Jais, Evenepoel new leader - UAE Tour 2023 Soudal-QuickStep wins TTT, Plapp new GC leader - UAE Tour 2023 Start times TTT - UAE Tour 2023 Merlier sprints to first leader's jersey - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 1: Al Dhafra Castle - Al Mirfa - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 2: Khalifa Port – TTT - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 3: Al Fujairah – Jebel Jais - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 4: Dubai – Dubai - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 5: Al Marjan Island – Umm Al Quwain - UAE Tour 2023 Route stage 7: Al Ain – Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!