Paris-Nice 2015: Cimolai wins, strong king of the mountains De Gendt

Stage 5 in Paris-Nice takes the riders in 192 kilometres to Rasteau. Thomas De Gendt is on the attack again. He brings home all KOM points today and almost makes it to the stage win. In the last few hundred metres the pack gets him and Cimolai powers to victory in the uphill bunch sprint. Kwiatkowski retains the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Paris – Nice 2015: Results 5th stage

1. Davide Cimolai (ita)
2. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
3. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
4. Nacer Bouhanni (fra) s.t.
5. José-Joaquín Rojas (spa) s.t.
6. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
7. Matti Breschel (den) s.t.
8. Daniel McClay (gbr) s.t.
9. Samuel Dumoulin (fra) s.t.
10. Sylvain Chavanel (fra) s.t.

GC after the 5th stage
1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.01
3. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.03
4. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 0.27
5. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 0.32
6. Tony Gallopin (fra) + 0.38
7. Rui Costa (por) + 0.41
8. Gorka Izaguirre (spa) + 0.44
9. Tiago Machado (por) + 0.50
10. Rafel Valls (spa) + 0.51

After several fruitless attacks Thomas De Gendt, Andrew Talansky and Roland Sicard are more successful. They escape with 5 kilometres done while climbing the Col de la Republique. De Gendt is the first to crest the 1st category top and he adds 10 points to his KOM total.

After chasing the trio for a while, Pawel Poljanski and Egos Silin join them in the descent of the Col de la Republique.

At the Col du Deves, Côte de l’Aleyrac and Côte de Buisson De Gendt puts more points into his KOM leadership. While he is at it the Belgian tries to win the stage and drops all of his escapees one after the other. He speeds to the uphill finish just to find out the race is a few hundred metres too long. He is gobbled up by the bunch and Davide Cimolai proves to be the strongest sprinter, besting Bryan Coquard by centimetres.

Paris – Nice 2015 stage 5: Images and more

Click on the images to zoom

Davide Cimolai

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris-Nice 2015 Richie Porte wins ITT and Paris-Nice - Paris-Nice 2015 Gallopin wins incredible stage - Paris-Nice 2015 Porte takes stage, Kwiatkowski leader - Paris-Nice 2015 Power-win by new leader Michael Matthews - Paris-Nice 2015 Greipel powers to victory, Degenkolb comes closer - Paris-Nice 2015 Kristoff outsprints pack, Kwiatkowski still in lead - Paris-Nice 2015 Close win Kwiatkowski over Dennis in prologue - Paris-Nice 2015 Route prologue: Maurepas - Maurepas - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 1: Saint-Rémy-lès-Chevreuse - Contres - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 2: Saint-Aignan - Saint-Amand-Montrond - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 3: Saint-Amand-Montrond - Saint-Pourçain-sur-Sioule - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 4: Varennes-sur-Allier - Croix de Chaubouret - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 5: Saint-Etienne - Rasteau - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 6: Vence - Nice - Paris-Nice 2015 Route stage 7: ITT Col d'Èze - Paris-Nice 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!