Volta a Catalunya 2021: Favourites

The Volta a Catalunya used to be an exception to the unspoken rule that stage races include at least one time trial. Yet, the 2021 edition does feature a race against the clock, which will change the dynamics of the race. Who are the favourites to win the Volta a Catalunya?

[Underneath article was written before the start of the Volta a Catalunya and has not been updated]

The battle for the overall triumph is likely to come down to the stages 2 (ITT), 3 (mountain) and 4 (mountain), while the hilly criterium race on the last day of action is always compelling, but seldom leads to significant changes on GC.

Following a stage for attackers on day one, the Volta a Catalunya continues with its first medium length ITT in thirteen years.

The following two days are tailor-made for climbers, although the uphill action of stage 3 is limited to the finish climb. The road to ski station Vallter 2000 ascends for 11 kilometres, while the average gradient sits at 7.6%.

The 4th stage is much harder. The route takes in two huge intermediate climbs – Port de Toses and Port De Cantó – before serving a final haul up to Port Ainé. The finish climb adds up 18.5 kilometres and the average gradient is 6.8%

Movistar won’t settle for less than a renewed GC victory in Catalonia. Following triumphs in 2016, 2017 and 2018, the Spanish armada saw Miguel Ángel López take the 2019 GG win ahead of Adam Yates and Egan Bernal. But do they have anyone left in their ranks who can live up to the high expectations?

Other recent winners of the Volta a Catalunya are Alejandro Valverde (2018, 2017, 2009), Nairo Quintana (2016), Richie Porte (2015) and Daniel Martin (2013).

Favourites 2021 Volta a Catalunya

*** João Almeida, Lennard Kämna, Richard Carapaz, Adam Yates
** Geraint Thomas, Wilco Kelderman, Hugh Carthy, Brandon McNulty, Enric Mas
* Daniel Martin, Simon Yates, Steven Kruijswijk, Nairo Quintana, Michael Woods

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Solo triumph De Gendt, Yates seals GC win - Volta a Catalunya 20 Sprint triumph Sagan, Yates still leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20 Kämna wins from breakaway, Yates remains leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Climb triumph Chaves, Yates still leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Adam Yates climbs to stage win and leader's jersey - Volta a Catalunya 20 Dennis wins ITT, Almeida new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 2: Starting times ITT - Volta a Catalunya 20 Kron wins four-up sprint to take race lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 1: Calella - Calella - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 2: ITT in Banyoles - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Castelldefels - Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: Ripoll - Port Ainé - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: La Pobla de Segur - Manresa - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Tarragona - Mataró - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!