UAE Tour 2022: Pogacar sprints to win and leader’s jersey on Jebel Jais

Tadej pogacar uae - UAE Tour 2022: Pogacar sprints to win and leader's jersey on Jebel Jaisfoto: Cor VosTadej Pogacar outguns Adam Yates and Aleksandr Vlasov in the uphill sprint on Jebel Jais. The Slovene is the new GC leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage UAE Tour 2022

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
3. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) s.t.
4. Ruben Guerreiro (por) + 0.03
5. Damien Howson (aus) s.t.
6. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
7. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
8. Geoffrey Bouchard (fra) s.t.
9. Jan Hirt (cze) s.t.
10. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
11. Filippo Ganna (ita) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Filippo Ganna (ita) + 0.02
3. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) 0.13
4. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.15
5. Neilson Powless (usa) + 0.23
6. João Almeida (por) + 0.28
7. Pello Bilbao (por) + 0.35
8. Oscar Rodriguez (spa) + 0.38
9. Ruben Guerreiro (por) + 0.40
10. Geoffrey Bouchard (fra) + 0.41

Race report
Jakob Egholm and Luca Rastelli are the attackers on duty. The two carve out a lead of 8 minutes before the peloton takes control.

Egholm and Rastelli are reeled in with 16 kilometres to go.

Dumoulin can’t follow the pace 8 kilometres before the line. Moments later leader Bissegger also loses contact.

Yates ups the pace inside the last 3 kilometres with seven riders in his wheel, but more riders bridge across just before the flamme rouge.

An acceleration by Plapp splits the group again. The 21-year old Aussi is caught inside the last 300 metres before Pogacar outsprints Yates and Vlasov. The rest of the group, including Ganna, finishes 3 seconds later.

Pogacar is the new race leader, 2 seconds ahead of Ganna with Vlasoc 10 more seconds behind.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2022 UAE Tour.

UAE Tour 2022 – stage 4: route, profile, tweets

Click on the images to zoom

Tadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - UAE Tour 20 Overview - UAE Tour 20 Pogacar winst last stage and GC - UAE Tour 20 Vacek wins five-up sprint, Pogacar still leader - UAE Tour 20 Second triumph Philipsen, Pogacar still leader - UAE Tour 20 Bissegger powers to ITT triumph and GC lead - UAE Tour 20 Sprint victory Cavendish, Philipsen still leader - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 1: Madinat Zayed – Madinat Zayed - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 2: Hudayriyat Island – Abu Dhabi Breakwater - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 3: Ajman – Ajman - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 5: Ras al Khaimah Corniche – Al Marjan Island - UAE Tour 20 UAE Tour 2022 Route stage 6: Expo 2020 Dubai – Expo 2020 Dubai Route stage 7: Al Ain – Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 20 Sprint triumph and leader's jersey Philipsen - UAE Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!