Tour Down Under 2023: Bauhaus sprints to triumph, Bettiol still leader

Phil Bauhaus - Tour Down Under 2023: Bauhaus sprints to triumph, Bettiol still leaderimage: Cor VosPhil Bauhaus sprints to victory on the second day of the Tour Down Under. The German holds off Caleb Ewan and Michael Matthews in a crash-marred finale, while Alberto Bettiol stays in the overall race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage 2023 Tour Down Under

1. Phil Bauhaus (ger)
2. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
3. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
4. Alessandro Covi (ita) s.t.
5. Paul Penhoët (fra) s.t.
6. Emils Liepins (lit) s.t.
7. Hugo Page (fra) s.t.
8. Hugo Hofstetter (fra) s.t.
9. Taj Jones (aus) s.t.
10. Gerben Thijssen (bel) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Alberto Bettiol (ita)
2. Michael Matthews (aus) + 0.06
3. Magnus Sheffield (usa) + 0.08
4. Julius Johansen (den) + 0.10
5. Kaden Groves (aus) + 0.11
6. Samuel Gaze (aus) s.t.
7. Hugo Page (fra) + 0.12
8. Marius Mayrhofer (ger) + 0.13
9. Corbin Strong (nzl) s.t.
10. Jannik Steimle (ger) s.t.

Race report
Nans Peters forms the one-man breakaway. Obviousyly, he takes full points in the first intermediate spirnt, while Michael Matthews gains 2 seconds and Ethan Hayter 1.

The Frenchman is reeled in before the second intermediate sprint, which is where Corbin Strong takes full points, again ahead of Michael Matthews and Ethan Hayter.

Meanwhile, Pat Bevin is forced to abandon. Gesink does not finish either, as he is involved in a crash inside the last 25 kilometres.

Another crash in the finale stops many riders before Bauhaus outguns Ewan and Matthews in a close finish.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage 2023 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2023 stage 1: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Phil Bauhaus

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Tour Down Under 2023 Winners and records - Tour Down Under Yates wins on Mount Lofty, Vine wraps up GC win - Tour Down Under 2023 Coquard wins in Willunga, Vine still leader - Tour Down Under 2023 Route stage 5: Unley - Mount Lofty - Tour Down Under 2023 Bilbao wins after Corkscrew attack, Vine new leader - Tour Down Under 2023 Rohan Dennis wins in Victor Harbor to take race lead - Tour Down Under 2023 Bettiol wins prologue to take ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2023 Start times prologue - Tour Down Under 2023 Route prologue: Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2023 Route stage 2: Brighton - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2023 Route stage 3: Norwood - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2023 Route stage 4: Port Willunga - Willunga - Tour Down Under 2023
More articles