Tirreno-Adriatico 2024: Milan outsprints Philipsen to take GC lead

Jonathan Milan - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024: Milan outsprints Philipsen to take GC leadfoto: Cor VosBreakaway rider Jonas Abrahamsen is caught in sight of the finish line before Jonathan Milan outguns Jasper Philipsen in a close sprint finish. The Italian takes the leader's jersey as well. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage 2024 Tirreno-Adriatico

1. Jonathan Milan (ita)
2. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
3. Corbin Strong (nzl) s.t.
4. Biniam Girmay (eri) s.t.
5. Axel Zingle (fra) s.t.
6. Marius Mayrhofer (ger) s.t.
7. Jonas Abrahamsen (nor) s.t.
8. Iván García (spa) s.t.
9. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
10. Antonio Tiberi (ita) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Jonathan Milan (ita)
2. Juan Ayuso (spa) + 0.04
3. Kévin Vauquelin (fra) + 0.18
4. Antonio Tiberi (ita) + 0.21
5. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.26
6. Romain Grégoire (fra) s.t.
7. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.28
8. Neilson Powless (usa) + 0.30
9. Max Poole (gbr) s.t.
10. Lennard Kämna (ger) s.t.

Race report
Lorenzo Quartucci, Davide Bais, Mirco Maestri, Alexander Kamp, Jonas Abrahamsen and Alex Tolio jump clear from the gun. The six open up gap of over 5 minutes.

When the gap has fallen to 1 minute, Maestri, Kamp and Abrahamsen leave the others behind. They hold on to that advantage for quite some time before they are caught with 1.2 kilometres to go. That is, it look like that, but Abrahamsen keeps on pushing and he re-opens a small lead.

The strong Norwegian is swallowed by the sprinters in sight of the line. It comes down to a Philipsen-Milan clash and the Italian takes the spoils. And not only that, he also takes the leader’s jersey.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2024 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 stage 4: video, routes, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Jonathan Milan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Tirreno - Adriatico 2024: Overview Winners and records - Tirreno-Adriatico Sprint triumph Milan, Vingegaard seals GC win - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Vingegaard extends GC lead with second consecutive victory - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Vingegaard solos to triumph and GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Sprint triumph Bauhaus, Ayuso still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Philipsen powers to triumph, Ayuso still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 ITT triumph and leader's jersey for Ayuso - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Stage 1: Start times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 1: Lido di Camaiore - Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 2: Camaiore – Follonica - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 3: Volterra - Gualdo Tadino - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 5: Torricella Sicura – Valle Castellana - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 6: Sassoferrato - Monte Petrano - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024
More articles