Paris - Nice 2021: GC Favourites

Two of 2020's Grand Tour winners make an appearance at the Race to the Sun. Roglic and Geoghegan Hart go head to head with the likes of Vlasov, Izagirre and Haig. Who are the most likely candidates to win Paris-Nice?

[Underneath article was written before the start of Paris-Nice and has not been updated]

Last year, Paris-Nice was the last race before the COVID-19 stoppage. While the final stage was called off, Max Schachmann took the overall victory after having been race leader from day one. Not all pre-race favourites contended though, as several teams withdrew in the days before the start.

Concerning the 2021 edition, the first proper time gaps are expected to open up in the time trial on the third day of action. Roglic is the most likely riders to deliver a blow on the undulating course of 14.4 kilometres long.

The GC action should intensify on stage 4, which packs in 3,500 metres of climbing before an uphill finish in Chiroubles. Featuring 2 kilometres at over 10%, the 7.3 kilometres final climb is highly irregular.

Looking at the profile, stage 7 will be pre-decisive – if not decisive. The route takes in three intermediate climbs before a summit finish in ski resort La Colmiane. The 16.3 kilometres drag to the line averages 6.3%. The ascent has opened up significant gaps in the recent past. Three years ago, Simon Yates put 46 seconds into his main rival Marc Soler, while Max Schachmann hung onto his yellow jersey despite losing 58 seconds to stage winner Nairo Quintana.

Stage 8 is a short race in the mountains above Nice. At 110.5 kilometres, the riders tackle six ascents before a downhill finish onto the Promenade des Anglais in Nice, the famous boulevard along the Côte d’Azur. Similar routes have produced breathtaking races in recent years, notably in 2016, 2017 and 2018, when Geraint Thomas, Sergio Henao and Marc Soler won the overall classification with 4 seconds, 2 seconds and 4 seconds, respectively.

Favourites Paris-Nice 2021

*** Primoz Roglic, Aleksandr Vlasov, Tao Geoghegan Hart
** Richie Porte, Jack Haig, Ion Izagirre, David Gaudu
* Brandon McNulty, Tiesj Benoot, Steven Kruijswijk, Dylan Teuns

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Cort wins final stage, Schachmann takes GC in bizarre finale - Paris-Nice 20 GC leader Roglic pockets Queen Stage - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic wins uphill sprint to extend GC lead - Paris-Nice 20 Bennett sprints to victory, Roglic still leader - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic solos to yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Bissegger takes ITT win and yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 3: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Sprint triumph Bol, Matthews new leader - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 1: Saint-Cyr-l'École - Saint-Cyr-l'École - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Oinville-sur-Montcient - Amilly - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Gien - Gien - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Chalon-sur-Saône - Chiroubles - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Vienne - Bollène - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Brignoles - Biot - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Le Broc - Valdeblore La Colmiane - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Le Plan-du-Var - Levens - Paris-Nice 20 Bennett sprints to first yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!