Giro Rosa 2018 Stage 8: Marianne Vos sprints to victory, Annemiek van Vleuten still in pink

Stage 8 in the Giro Rosa is a hilly race in Breganze. Following a late attack Marianne Vos sprints to victory in Breganze ahead of Elisa Longo Borghini and Lucinda Brand. Annemiek van Vleuten crosses the line 23 seconds later, but retains the maglia rosa. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2018 Giro Rosa

1. Marianne Vos (nld)
2. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) s.t.
3. Lucinda Brand (nld) s.t.
4. Giorgia Bronzini (ita) + 0.23
5. Sorya Paladin (ita) s.t.
6. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (ita) s.t.
7. Sofia Bertizzolo (ita) s.t.
8. Elena Cecchini (ita) s.t.
9. Nadia Quagliotto (ita) s.t.
10. Eugenia Bujak (slo) s.t.

13. Amanda Spratt (usa) s.t.
14. Ashleigh Moolman (rsa) s.t.
20. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.

GC after the 8th stage
1. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld)
2. Lucinda Brand (nld) + 2.29
3. Ashleigh Moolman (rsa) + 2.51
4. Amanda Spratt (aus) + 2.53
5. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 4.21
6. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 4.33
7. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 4.59
8. Ruth Winder (usa) + 5.52
9. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 6.05
10. Sabrina Stultiens (nld) + 6.36

Race report
The peloton splits on the first climb. All the jerseys are in the first group of around seventy riders.

Małgorzata Jasińska and Anna Plichta head out together with 75 kms remaining. Chloe Hosking bridges across before the three are brought back. More attacks follow, but they are all neutralised.

A sprint seems to be the most likely outcome. Kirsten Wild, Lotta Lepistö and Marianne Vos are on board.

Descending the last climb, the first group splits. Lucinda Brand goes solo with 2 kms out and she is accompanied by Marianne Vos and Elisa Longo Borghini, who sprint to first and second place, while Brand herself takes third.

Annemiek van Vleuten loses 23 seconds, but holds on to the pink jersey.

Tomorrow’s stage runs to the steep inhumanly Zoncolan.

Read also: route 8th stage 2018 Giro Rosa.

Giro Rosa 2018 stage 8: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 10: Annemiek van Vleuten wins final stage and GC - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 9: Van Vleuten cements lead with Zoncolan victory - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 7: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to mountain time trial win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 6: Mountain top victory brings Amanda Spratt maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 5: Ruth Winder takes stage win and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 4: Jolien D'Hoore again, Leah Kirchmann still in pink - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 3: Jolien D'Hoore powers to sprint win, Leah Kirchmann new leader - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Kirsten Wild, Lucinda Brand new leader - Giro Rosa 20 Stage 1: Team Sunweb wins TTT, Ellen van Dijk first maglia Rosa - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 1: TTT in Verbania - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 2: Ovada - Ovada - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 3: Corbetta- Corbetta - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 4: Piacenza - Piacenza - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 5: Omegna - Omegna - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 6: Sovico - Gerola Alta - Giro Rosa 20 Route stage 7: Lanzada - Campo Moro - Giro Rosa 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!