BinckBank Tour 2017: Lars Boom solos to victory and leader’s jersey

In the 5th stage of the Binck Bank Tour the riders compete a mini Amstel Gold Race. A course with no less than 19 hills runs to the finish at the Tom Dumoulin Bike Park. Lars Boom powers to victory after a late attack. The Dutchman leads the overall, 2 seconds ahead of Peter Sagan. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage 2017 BinckBank Tour

1. Lars Boom (nld)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.03
3. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
4. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
5. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
6. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.
7. Sep Vanmarcke (bel) s.t.
8. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
9. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
10. Jasha Sütterlin (ger) s.t.

11. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.

GC after the 5th stage
1. Lars Boom (nld)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.02
3. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.08
4. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.19
5. Jasha Sütterlin (ger) + 0.27
6. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
7. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.29
8. Petr Vakoc (cze) + 0.32
9. Jens Keukeleire (bel) + 0.35
10. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.36

Race report
After almost one hour in the saddle seven riders force a gap – Van Melsen, Vakoc, Biermans, Hepburn, Bagdonas, Allegaert and Reinders. They race to a maximum lead of more than 4 minutes.

The gap falls to 1 minute when Sunweb is setting the pace. Küng punctures and winds up in a chasing group, along with Lars Boom. They make it back to the other favourites with 23 kms left, while Hepburn and Vakoc jump off the front to leave their companions behind. Gougeard goes after them and Wellens and Valgren rejoin the French rider. The trio gobbles up the two leaders.

With 12 kms left more riders bridge across. Dumoulin, Boom, Sagan, Naesen, Van Poppel (Danny), Stuyven, Sütterlin. Vanmarcke and Bakelants are present. No sign of Küng, Gilbert and Van Avermaet. Yet, the two Belgians hook up with 6 kms left.

Bakelants and Stuyven jump clear a little later, but they are brought back. Vanmarcke is next before Boom counter-attacks with 2 kms remaining. The Dutchman forges a gap and grabs the opportunity to power to his first victory since his Tour de France stage win in 2014. As a bonus he takes the overall lead, 2 seconds ahead of Peter Sagan, who wins the sprint of the chasing group.

Read also: route 5th stage 2017 BinckBank Tour

BinckBank Tour 2017 stage 5: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Lars Boom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 2017 Overview - BinckBank Tour 2017 Stuyven wins in Geraardsbergen, Dumoulin takes overall - BinckBank Tour 2017 Wellens bests Dumoulin in two-up sprint, Dutchman takes overall lead - BinckBank Tour 2017 Theuns sprints to victory, Küng still in overall lead - BinckBank Tour 2017 Sagan sprints to second win, Küng still leader - BinckBank Tour 2017 Stefan Küng powers to victory and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 2017 Peter Sagan outsprints Phil Bauhaus in photo-finish - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 1: Breda (nld) - Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 2: ITT in Voorburg (nld) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 3: Blankenberge (bel) - Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 4: Lanaken (bel) - Lanaken - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 6: Riemst (bel) - Houffalize (bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 7: Essen (bel) - Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!