BinckBank Tour 2017: Wellens bests Dumoulin in two-up sprint, Dutchman takes overall lead

The 6th stage of the BinckBank Tour is a mini-version of Liège-Bastogne-Liège. In rainy conditions, the race travels through the Ardennes to finish in Houffalize. Tim Wellens outsprints Tom Dumoulin on the line, while the Giro-winner is the new overall leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2017 BinckBank Tour

1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Tom Dumoulin (nld)
3. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.17
4. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
5. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
6. Michael Valgren (den) + 0.20
7. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
8. Nils Politt (ger) + 1.42
9. Sep Vanmarcke (bel) s.t.
10. Dion Smith (aus) s.t.

17. Lars Boom (nld) s.t.
18. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.
21. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.

GC after the 6th stage
1. Tom Dumoulin (nld)
2. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.04
3. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.46
4. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.52
5. Michael Valgren (den) + 1.02
6. Oliver Naesen (bel) + 1.09
7. Lars Boom (nld) + 1.46
8. Peter Sagan (svk) + 1.48
9. Jasha Sütterlin (ger) + 2.13
10. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 2.15

Race report
High pace after the start and it takes 42 kms for the break to take shape. Then Tony Martin, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Dylan Van Baarle, Rory Sutherland, Alexis Gougeard and Pieter Weening forge a maximum gap of more than 5 minutes.

Shortly after the first passage on the line the riders tackle Rue Saint Roch, an 1 kilometre climb at 11%. Atop the leaders are caught, while the peloton is shattered. Naesen jumps clear off the front with 25 kms remaining.

Leader Boom is dropped on Bois des Moines, while Wellens and Sagan chase Naesen down to leave him behind. The World Champion punctures and Wellens goes solo. In the Golden Kilometre Dumoulin rejoins the Flemish rider, who takes all time bonuses ahead of the Dutchman. Van Avermaet, Benoot, Valgren, Naesen and Stuyven are the first chasers at 20 seconds. Meanwhile, Sagan is more than 1 minute in arrears in the same group as Boom.

Dumoulin and Wellens hold on to their lead in the last 15 kilometres before the Belgian outsprints the Giro-winner on the line. Dumoulin can take comfort in the fact that he is the new leader on GC, 4 seconds ahead of Wellens.

Read also: route 6th stage 2017 BinckBank Tour

BinckBank Tour 2017 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Tim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 2017 Overview - BinckBank Tour 2017 Stuyven wins in Geraardsbergen, Dumoulin takes overall - BinckBank Tour 2017 Lars Boom solos to victory and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 2017 Theuns sprints to victory, Küng still in overall lead - BinckBank Tour 2017 Sagan sprints to second win, Küng still leader - BinckBank Tour 2017 Stefan Küng powers to victory and leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 2017 Peter Sagan outsprints Phil Bauhaus in photo-finish - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 1: Breda (nld) - Venray (nld) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 2: ITT in Voorburg (nld) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 3: Blankenberge (bel) - Ardooie (bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 4: Lanaken (bel) - Lanaken - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 5: Sittard/Geleen (nld) - Sittard/Geleen - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 7: Essen (bel) - Geraardsbergen (bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!