Volta a Catalunya 2024: Sprint triumph Van den Berg, Pogacar still leader

Marijn van den berg - Volta a Catalunya 2024: Sprint triumph Van den Berg, Pogacar still leaderfoto: Cor VosMarijn van den Berg sprints to victory in 4th stage of the Volta a Catalunya. He keeps Arne Marit and Emils Liepins at bay to take the win, while Tadej Pogacar stays in the lead of the general classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage 2024 Volta a Catalunya

1. Marijn van den Berg (nld)
2. Arne Marit (bel) s.t.
3. Emils Liepins (lat) s.t.
4. Bryan Coquard (fra) z.t
5. Axel Laurance (fra) s.t.
6. Cyril Barthe (fra) s.t.
7. Ethan Hayter (gbr) s.t.
8. Dorian Godon (fra) s.t.
9. Orluis Aular (col) s.t.
10. Jacopo Mosca (ita) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Mikel Landa (spa) + 2.27
3. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 2.55
4. Lenny Martinez (fra) + 3.21
5. Chris Harper (aus) + 3.22
6. Enric Mas (spa) + 3.27
7. Wout Poels (nld) + 3.31
8. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 3.32
9. Egan Bernal (col) + 3.50
10. João Almeida (por) + 3.52

High pace from the start, as the course runs slightly downhill. Thomas De Gendt jumps clear with Urko Berrade, while Idar Andersen bridges across. The trio opens up a lead of over 3.30 minutes.

Berrade loses contact just after halfway. De Gendt pushes on with Andersen until they are caught with 30 kilometres to go. Then it’s Luis Angel Maté time. The Spaniard rides 15 seconds ahead of the peloton for kilometres before he is caught with 8 kilometres remaining.

In the ensuing sprint it is Marijn van den Berg who outguns Arne Marit and Emils Liepins.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2024 Volta a Catalunya.

Volta a Catalunya 2024, stage 4: video, route, profile

Click on the images to zoom

Marijn van den Berg

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Winners and records - Volta a Catalunya Sprint triumph and GC victory for Pogacar - Volta a Catalunya 2024 And that's three... Pogacar wins again - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Sprint triumph Laurance, Pogacar still leader - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Leader Pogacar wins second consecutive mountain stage - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Pogacar wins in Vallter to take race lead - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Schultz outguns Pogacar on uphill finish - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 1: Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 2: Mataró – Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 3: Sant Joan de les Abadesses – Port Ainé - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 5: Altafulla – Viladecans - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 6: Berga – Queralt - Volta a Catalunya 2024 Route stage 7: Barcelona – Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2024
More articles