Tour Down Under 2024: The Route

Jay Vine - image: Cor VosThe 2024 edition of the Tour Down Under sets off on Tuesday 16 January and finishes on Sunday the 22nd. What's in between? Jay Vine is title holder. (Slideshow route/profile)

The UCI World Tour kicks into gear with a virtually flat 1st stage. It’s a cicuit race around Tanunda.

The 2nd stage of the Tour Down Under is a lumpy test between Norwood and Lobethal. The punchy Fox Creek climb – 1 kilometre at 10% – inside the last 10 kilometres could be decisive.

Stage 3 features 2,211 metres vertical metres, but still, a bunch sprint is the most likely outcome. Caleb Ewan won seven years ago after a similar finale.

The flattest race of the entire Tour Down Under takes place on the fourth day. Stage 4 travels to a slightly uphill home straight in Port Elliot.

The 5th stage sees the return of Willunga Hill after a 3 years hiatus. The finish climb is 3 kilometres long and averaging 7%, while it ramps up to 15.6%.

The Tour Down Under is to be decided on the final day of action. Starting in Unley and finishing on Mount Lofty, stage 6 takes in an elevation gain of 2,821 metres and an uphill finish.

Tour Down Under 2024: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 2: Norwood - Lobethal - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 3: Tea Tree Gully - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 4: Murray Bridge - Port Elliot - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 5: Christies Beach - Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 6: Unley - Mount Lofty - Tour Down Under 2024
More articles