Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 6: Unley - Mount Lofty

Tour Down Under 2024 stage 6Sunday 21 January - The Tour Down Under is to be decided on the final day of action. Starting in Unley and finishing on Mount Lofty, the route is 128.2 kilometres long and features an elevation gain of 2,821 metres.

The route climbs from the gun on the short but explosive climb to Windy Point, which is a 3.8 kilometres ascent with maximum gradients of 20%. Within the first 20 kilometres the second climb is also crested and the route then continues on undulating terrain to the finishing circuit around Mount Lofty.

The riders enter the loop in Aldgate and continue through Stirling and Crafers to the summit of Mount Lofty. This section goes entirely uphill, although the actual KOM is only 1.3 kilometres long and averaging 7.3%. The steepest part – 13.3% – sits in the final kilometre.

Two more climbs up Mount Lofty are on the cards, both at the end of a 25 kilometres loop through the Adelaide Hills.

Last year, Mount Lofty was first included on the Tour Down Under. Simon Yates outsprinted Jay Vine and Ben O’Connor on the line, while Vine sealed the overall victory.

Two intermediate sprints come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds each, while the first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds.

Ride the route yourself? Download GPX stage 6.

Another interesting read: results 6th stage and final GC 2024 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2024 stage 6: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Tour Down Under 2024 Winners and records - Tour Down Under Onley wins on Willunga Hill, Williams new leader - Tour Down Under 2024 Welsford completes hattrick, Del Toro still leader - Tour Down Under 2024 Second sprint triumph Welsford, Del Toro still leads - Tour Down Under 2024 Isaac Del Toro wins in Lobethal to take race lead - Tour Down Under 2024 Sprint triumph and GC lead for Welsford - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 1: Tanunda – Tanunda - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 2: Norwood - Lobethal - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 3: Tea Tree Gully - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 4: Murray Bridge - Port Elliot - Tour Down Under 2024 Route stage 5: Christies Beach - Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2024
More articles