Tour Down Under 2019: Sagan wins hilly 3rd stage, Bevin still leader

Peter Sagan 2019 - Tour Down Under 2019: Sagan wins hilly 3rd stage, Bevin still leaderThe Tour Down Under's 3rd stage is a hilly race with an elevation gain of 3,337 metres. Title defender Daryl Impey is the first to jump in the slighly uphill finish, but Peter Sagan responds and takes the win centimetres ahead of Luis León Sánchez, while Impey finishes third. Patrick Bevin retains the ochre jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2019 Tour Down Under

1. Peter Sagan (svk)
2. Luis León Sánchez (spa) s.t.
3. Daryl Impey (rsa) s.t.
4. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
5. Patrick Bevin (nzl) s.t.
6. Jan Polanc (slo) s.t.
7. Ruben Guerriro (por) s.t.
8. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
9. Christopher Hamilton (aus) s.t.
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.

GC after the 3rd stage
1. Patrick Bevin (nzl)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.01
3. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.09
4. Michael Storer (aus) + 0.10
5. Daryl Impey (rsa) + 0.11
6. Danny van Poppel (nld) + 0.15
7. Jan Polanc (slo) s.t.
8. Ryan Gibbons (rsa) s.t.
9. Christopher Hamilton (aus) s.t.
10. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.

Race report
Elia Viviani, winner of the 1st stage, forms the breakaway with Nicholas Dlamini, James Whelan, Nico Denz, Manuele Boaro, Leo Vincent and Michael Potter. The leaders put 3 minutes into the peloton. Once on the hilly circuit around arrival place Uraidla Viviani stops his efforts and drops back into the peloton.

Heading into the finale the gap crumbles quickly, leaving only Dlamini, Whelan and Potter to carry on. Alberto Bettiol, Davide Ballerini and Manuele Boaro rejoin them before Bettiol pushes on alone. Yet, the Italian is also reeled in in the last lap.

The finale is mesmerizing. Kenny Elissonde attacks with 2.3 kilometres out and Robert Gesink tries to bridge. The Dutchman doesn’t make it, but Michael Woods does. He sweeps past Elissonde before he is caught as well.

Inside the final kilometre title defender Daryl Impey strikes, but Peter Sagan is glued to his wheel. On the uphill section to the line the former World Champion takes the win just centimetres ahead of Luis Léon Sánchez with Impey in third.

Leader Patrick Bevin finishes fifth to hold on to the ochre jersey, yet Sagan is breathing down his neck. The gap is just 1 second.

Ensuing read: route stage 3 Tour Down Under 2019.

Tour Down Under 2019 stage 3: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Peter Sagan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2019 Overview - Tour Down Under 2019 Porte wins stage 6 as Impey takes GC - Tour Down Under 2019 Sprint victory Philipsen, Bevin crashes but retains lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Stage 4: Impey wins ahead of Bevin, who retains GC lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Bevin snatches 2nd stage to take GC lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Viviani sprints to victory and ochre jersey in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 1: North Adelaide - Port Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 2: Norwood - Angaston - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 4: Unley - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 5: Glenelg - Strathalbyn - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale - Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!