Tour Down Under 2018: Favourites

For most European riders the Santos Tour Down Under is merely a warm-up race for the coming season, while the Australians should be at their best form as the nationals are only one week earlier. Check out the favourites to win the 2018 Tour Down Under. (Slideshow route/profile)

The only European rider to win the overall in the last five editions was Tom-Jelte Slagter (2013). The Tour Down Under is a race for the hilly specialists. Just take a look at the record holder. Simon Gerrans is a four time winner, pocketing the GC in 2006, 2012, 2014 and 2016. The route is tailor made for the type of rider he is, yet it’s unlikely he will win in 2018 as title defender Richie Porte is his leader since Gerrans moved to BMC.

Chances are the 2018 winner is from the BMC camp. Richie Porte (2017), Rohan Dennis (2015) and Simon Gerrans (see above) took last four editions and they all wear the same kit this year.

Richie Porte is the king of Willunga Hill in last four editions. Last year, the Tasmanian put 20 seconds or more into his opponents on the 3 kilometres climb at 7%.

Favourites Tour Down Under 2018

*** Richie Porte, Rohan Dennis
** Jay McCarthy, Marc Soler, Diego Ulissi, Pierre Latour, Rui Costa, Nathan Haas, Tom-Jelte Slagter
* Simon Gerrans, Peter Sagan, Robert Gesink, Ion Izagirre, George Bennett, Domenico Pozzovivo

Tour Down Under 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
3 comment(s)

Related articles
André Greipel wins final stage, Impey takes overall - Tour Down Under 20 Porte wins at Willunga Hill, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 20 Sagan sprints to stage win and leaders jersey at stage 4 - Tour Down Under 20 Viviani wins 3rd stage, Ewan still in overall lead - Tour Down Under 20 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory and leaders jersey - Tour Down Under 20 André Greipel outsprints Caleb Ewan in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 1: Port Adelaide – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 2: Unley - Stirling - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 4: Norwood - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 20 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide - Tour Down Under 20
More articles