Tour de France 2024: Vingegaard wins thrilling battle in Massif Central, Pogacar still leader

Jonas Vingegaard tdf - Tour de France 2024: Vingegaard wins thrilling battle in Massif Central, Pogacar still leaderfoto: Cor VosTadej Pogacar attacks in the last 500 meters of the Puy Mary Pas de Peyrol, while Jonas Vingegaard regains contact just before the summit of the Col de Perthus. Vingegaard takes the win in a millimetre sprint. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 11th stage 2024 Tour de France

1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
3. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 0.25
4. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
5. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 1.47
6. João Almeida (por) + 1.49
7. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
8. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
9. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 1.55
10. Felix Gall (aut) + 2.38

15. Juan Ayuso (spa) + 4.39
16. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) s.t.

GC after stage 11
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 1.06
3. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 1.14
4. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 2.15
5. João Almeida (por) + 4.20
6. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 4.40
7. Mikel Landa (spa) + 5.38
8. Adam Yates (gbr) + 6.59
9. Juan Ayuso (spa) + 7.09
10. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 7.36

Race report
Quentin Pacher, Kévin Vauquelin, and Tobias Halland Johannessen are the first riders to open up a gap. Wout van Aert, Bart Lemmen, Michał Kwiatkowski, Tom Pidcock, Bruno Armirail, Romain Grégoire, Valentin Madouas, Richard Carapaz, Ben Healy, Stephen Williams, Axel Zingle, Oier Lazkano, Oscar Onley, and Harold Tejada rejoin the chasers after 20 kilometres of action.

The peloton does not agree, and the attackers are brought back.

Attacks keep flying for tens of kilometres. Then Cristián Rodríguez and Richard Carapaz join forces. Magnus Cort, Clément Russo, Axel Zingle, Anthony Turgis, Matteo Vercher, Silvan Dillier, Toms Skujins, Frank van den Broek, and Paul Lapeira chase them down.

Richard Carapaz goes again when the attackers are caught. Mattéo Vecher follows his move, while Ben Healy, Oier Lazkano, Oscar Onley, and Paul Lapeira rejoin them just before the summit of the first climb. Julien Bernard, Bruno Armirail, Romain Grégoire, and Guillaume Martin round out the lead group with 110 kilometres remaining.

The ten put a maximum of 2.30 minutes into the peloton. UAE Emirates keeps the break on a tight leash.

The gap falls below 1 minute on the Col de Néronne, which inspires Healy and Lazkano to head out together. The Spaniard drops the Irishman intitially, but Healy regains contact 500 metres from the summit.

Carapaz tracks the two down on the Puy Mary Pas de Peyrol, but he is dropped again a little later. The remnants of the peloton kill the breakaway in the final kilometres of the climb.

Tadej Pogacar strikes 500 metres from the summit and he crests the Pas de Peyrol with a marginal lead over Jonas Vingegaard.

While Pogacar widens his lead in the descent, Primoz Roglic rejoins Vingegaard. João Almeida, Adam Yates, Carlos Rodriguez, Giulio Ciccone, and Remco Evenepoel bridge across later.

The yellow jersey enters the Col de Perthus with a 30 seconds lead. Vingegaard and Roglic distance their companions before the Dane distances the Slovenian. Evenepoel rejoins Roglic in the last kilometre of the Perthus.

Vingegaard catches Pogacar just before the top. The latter wins the sprint for time bonuses.

In the sprint on the line it’s the other way around. Vingegaard edges out his eternal rival in a millimetre sprint. Evenepoel crosses the line 25 seconds later to retain the second place in the GC. Pogacar still leads the Tour de France with a lead of over 1 minute.

Another interesting read: route 11th stage 2024 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2024 stage 11: video, routes, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Jonas Vingegaard

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites stage 11: Brutal onslaught in Massif Central - Tour de France 2024 The Route - Tour de France 2024 Riders - Tour de France 2024 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2024 Results - Tour de France 2024 Winners and records - Tour de France GC Favourites - Tour de France 2024
More articles