Tour de France 2023: Pogacar wins five-up sprint, Vingegaard seals GC triumph

Tadej Pogacar tdf - Tour de France 2023: Pogacar wins five-up sprint, Vingegaard seals GC triumphimage: Cor VosFelix Gall, Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogacar crest the last climb of the Vosges stage, Col du Platzerwasel, in first position. The Yates brothers bridge across on the plateau before Pogacar takes the win in the ensuing sprint. Vingegaard finishes in third to seal the overall victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 20th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Felix Gall (aut) s.t.
3. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
4. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
5. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.07
6. Warren Barguil (fra) + 0.33
7. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
8. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
9. Tobias Halland Johannessen (nor) + 0.50
10. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.

11. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
12. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 0.52
20. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 3.33
24. David Gaudu (fra) + 5.07
83. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 20.39

GC after stage 20
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 7.29
3. Adam Yates (gbr) + 10.56
4. Simon Yates (gbr) + 12.23
5. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 12.57
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 13.27
7. Jai Hindley (aus) + 14.44
8. Felix Gall (aut) + 16.09
9. David Gaudu (fra) + 23.08
10. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 26.30

Race report
Team mates Victor Campenaerts and Jasper De Buyst attack from the gun to open up a 50 seconds lead. Campenaerts heads out alone on the Ballon d’Alsace and he is reeled in with 4.5 kilometres left to climb.

Giulio Ciccone takes the maximum amount of points at the top, while Julian Alaphilippe and Axel Zingle strike on descent. Carlos Rodriguez hits the deck and he takes down Sepp Kuss also. As a result of the crash, the peloton splits. The first riders – Jonas Vingegaard, Dylan van Baarle, Michal Kwiatkowski, Tom Pidcock, Stefan Küng, Neilson Powless, Mikel Landa, Giulio Ciccone, Mattias Skjelmose, Mads Pedersen, Mathieu van der Poel, Ion Izagirre, Krists Neilands, Warren Barguil, Maxim Van Gils, Mathieu Burgaudeau – rejoin the two attackers.

Pidcock, Ciccone, Skjelmose, Neilands en Barguil distance the others on the Col de la Croix des Moinats. Ciccone cements his KOM lead at the summit, while Thibaut Pinot bridges across on the Col de Grosse-Pierre before the KOM leader once again reaches a summit in first position.

Chris Harper, Valentin Madouas, Kevin Vermaerke and Rigoberto Uran make it ten at the front before Ciccone seals his KOM victory on the Col de la Schlucht.

Pinot attacks from a group with Madouas, Pidcock, Barguil, Ciccone and Harper on the Petit Ballon. The home rider reaches the summit 33 seconds ahead of Barguil, Pidcock and Harper. The peloton is trailing at 1.30 minutes before David Gaudu goes down on descent.

Pidcock and Barguil drop Harper before they track down Pinot on the Col du Platzerwasel. Pogacar strikes on the lower slopes and Vingegaard follows the move. Gall rejoins the two when Pogacar stops pushing. The trio gobbles up the attackers to reach the summit 12 seconds ahead of the first chasers, the Yates brothers.

Pogacar powers to victory in the sprint ahead of Gall and Vingegaard. The Dane seals the overall victory.

Another interesting read: route 20th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 20: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Tadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites stage 20: Final say in brutal Vosges race - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 Winners and records - Tour de France GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles