Tour de France 2023: Gall wins Queen Stage, Vingegaard cements GC lead

Felix Gall - Tour de France 2023: Gall wins Queen Stage, Vingegaard cements GC leadimage: Cor VosFelix Gall attacks from the breakaway on the brutal Col de la Loze, while Tadej Pogacar loses contact in the GC group. The Austrian solos to victory and Jonas Vingegaard extends his lead on GC with a few minutes. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 17th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Felix Gall (aut)
2. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.34
3. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 1.38
4. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 1.52
5. David Gaudu (fra) + 2.09
6. Tobias Halland Johannessen (nor) + 2.39
7. Chris Harper (aus) + 2.50
8. Rafal Majka (pol) + 3.43
9. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
10. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 3.49

12. Jai Hindley (aus) + 4.25
15. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 4.54
16. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 5.43
22. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 7.37

GC after stage 17
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 7.35
3. Adam Yates (gbr) + 10.45
4. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 12.01
5. Simon Yates (gbr) + 12.19
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 12.50
7. Jai Hindley (aus) + 13.50
8. Felix Gall (aut) + 16.11
9. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 16.49
10. David Gaudu (fra) + 17.57

Race report
KOM leader Giulio Ciccone, Neilson Powless, Mads Pedersen, Jonas Gregaard and Luka Mezgec jump off the front after 10 kilometres of action. The five enter the Col des Saises with a 30 seconds lead, but they are caught by the front of the peloton. A group with Rafal Majka, Thibaut Pinot, Neilson Powless, Rigoberto Uran, Julian Alaphilippe, Jack Haig, Giulio Ciccone, Mattias Skjelmose, Felix Gall, Rui Costa, Victor Lafay, Kevin Vermaerke, Krists Neilands, Simon Yates, Lawson Craddock, Chris Harper, Clément Champoussin and Jonas Gregaard pushes on, but the Jumbo-Visma led peloton keeps them on a leash and brings the attackers back in the final kilometre of the climb.

Alaphilippe strikes on descent, while Ciccone and Neilands track him down. Gregor Mühlberger, Jack Haig, Kevin Vermaerke and Mattias Skjelmose rejoin them in the valley before a huge group of riders – Tiesj Benoot, Wilco Kelderman, Rafal Majka, Marc Soler, David Gaudu, Stefan Küng, Valentin Madouas, Thibaut Pinot, Magnus Cort, Rigoberto Uran, Dries Devenyns, Pello Bilbao, Ben O’Connor, Nans Peters, Felix Gall, Rui Costa, Guillaume Martin, Matthew Dinham, Hugo Houle, Nick Schultz, Simon Yates, Lawson Craddock, Chris Harper, Clément Champoussin, Simon Guglielmi, Alexey Lutsenko, Gianni Moscon, Tobias Halland Johannessen, Jonas Gregaard – bridges across on the Cormet de Roselend.

While the lead group opens up a maximum gap of over 3 minutes, Ciccone takes maximum KOM points on the Saises, Cormet de Roselend and Côte de Longefoy. The Italian loses contact on the early slopes of the Col de la Loze.

The lead group is down to Felix Gall, Simon Yates, Chris Harper and Rafal Majka when Tadej Pogacar loses contact in the GC group. Moments later Gall heads out alone.

Benoot waits for Jonas Vingegaard and starts setting the pace. Adam Yates is the last rider to be dropped from the Jumbo Bees mini train.

Simon Yates leaves Majka behind and reaches the summit of the Col de la Loze 23 seconds after Gall. Vingegaard crests the giant 1.30 minutes later with Bilbao and Gaudu in his wheel.

Gall holds on on descent and in the steep last 600 metres to take the best win in his career. Yates finishes in second, while Bilbao drops Vingegaard in the dying metres to finish in third. The Dane won’t bother as he finishes 5.45 minutes ahead of Pogacar and virtually seals his second Tour de France victory in a row.

Another interesting read: route 17th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 17: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Felix Gall

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites stage 17: Double digit denouement - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 Winners and records - Tour de France GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles