Tour de France 2023: Adam Yates outguns brother Simon to take yellow

Adam Yates - Tour de France 2023: Adam Yates outguns brother Simon to take yellowimage: Cor VosSimon Yates and Adam Yates go on the attack just after the Côte de Pike. Adam drops his twin brother in the last kilometre to take the stage win. Obviously, he is also the first leader on GC. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Adam Yates (gbr)
2. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.04
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.12
4. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
5. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
6. Victor Lafay (fra) s.t.
7. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
8. Mattias Skjelmose (den) .t.
9. Jonas Vingegaard (den) .t.
10. David Gaudu (fra) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Adam Yates (gbr)
2. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.08
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.18
4. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.22
5. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
6. Victor Lafay (fra) s.t.
7. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
8. Mattias Skjelmose (den) s.t.
9. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
10. David Gaudu (fra) s.t.

22. Romain Bardet (fra) + 0.43
23. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
33. Ben O’Connor (aus) s.t.
35. Giulio Ciccone (ita) s.t.
40. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
56. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 3.23
70. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 5.46
91. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 9.42
152. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 15.34

Race report
Pascal Eenkoorn initiates the breakaway early on. Lilian Calméjane, Simon Guglielmi, Jonas Gregaard and Valentin Ferron go with him. The five open up a lead of 2.30 minutes. That’s all they get.

Gregaard wins the KOM sprint on the Côte de Laukiz, Eenhoorn takes the sprint on the Côte de San Juan de Gaztelungaxte. And while the attackers are caught with 50 kilometres remaining, Neilson Powless takes the polka dot jersey by winning the Côte de Vivero sprint. The American is the first KOM leader of the Tour.

Enric Mas and Richard Carapaz hit the deck in the Côte de Vivero descent. Mas abandons and the Olympic champion loses a lot of time.

Tadej Pogacar, Jonas Vingegaard en Victor Lafay distance the others on the Côte de Pike. Several riders bridge across on descent before Simon and Adam Yates attack together. Julian Alaphilippe, Tom Pidcock and Mathieu van der Poel didn’t survive the Pike.

The twin brothers open up a 20 seconds lead, which is enough to battle it out for the win. Adam drops Simon halfway up the last kilometre and he powers to the first yellow jersey. His team leader Pogacar wins the sprint of the chasers to take a time bonus of 4 seconds.

A group with Romain Bardet, Egan Bernal, Ben O’Connor, Giulio Ciccone and Pello Bilbao cross the line 21 seconds after Pogacar/Vingegaard, while Daniel Felipe Martínez, Rigoberto Uran, Alexey Lutsenko and Richard Carapaz lose several minutes.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 1: routes, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Adam Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites stage 1: Hilly specialist for first yellow jersey - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 Winners and records - Tour de France GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles