Tirreno-Adriatico 2024: Philipsen powers to triumph, Ayuso still leader

Jasper Philipsen ta - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024: Philipsen powers to triumph, Ayuso still leaderfoto: Cor VosJasper Philipsen sprints to his first triumph of 2024 in the 2nd stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico. He outguns Tim Merlier and Axel Zingle, while Juan Ayuso stays in the lead of the general classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage 2024 Tirreno-Adriatico

1. Jasper Philipsen (bel)
2. Tim Merlier (bel) s.t.
3. Axel Zingle (fra) s.t.
4. Amaury Capiot (bel) s.t.
5. Casper van Uden (nld) s.t.
6. Søren Wærenskjold (nor) s.t.
7. Giovanni Lonardi (ita) s.t.
8. Ethan Vernon (gbr) s.t.
9. Jonathan Milan (ita) s.t.
10. Fabian Lienhard (swi) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Juan Ayuso (spa) 11.24
2. Filippo Ganna (ita) + 0.01
3. Jonathan Milan (ita) + 0.12
4. Ethan Vernon (gbr) + 0.13
5. Josef Cerny (cze) + 0.14
6. Søren Wærenskjold (nor) + 0.15
7. Antonio Tiberi (ita) + 0.17
8. Kevin Vauquelin (fra) + 0.18
9. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.22
10. Romain Grégoire (fra) s.t.

Lorenzo Quartucci, Jan Stöckli, Davide Bais and Filippo Magli attack from the gun. The peloton agrees and the quartet races to a lead of more than 6 minutes. At the summit of the only climb of the day, the gap has been halved.

Jan Stöckli is the last attacker to be reeled in with 37 kilometres remaining.

Tim Merlier opens his sprint way too early and hence he is a perfect lead-out man for Jasper Philipsen, who powers to the win.

Juan Ayuso stays in the lead of the general classification.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2024 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 stage 2: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Jasper Philipsen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Tirreno - Adriatico 2024: Overview Winners and records - Tirreno-Adriatico Sprint triumph Milan, Vingegaard seals GC win - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Vingegaard extends GC lead with second consecutive victory - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Vingegaard solos to triumph and GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Milan outsprints Philipsen to take GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Sprint triumph Bauhaus, Ayuso still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 ITT triumph and leader's jersey for Ayuso - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Stage 1: Start times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 1: Lido di Camaiore - Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 3: Volterra - Gualdo Tadino - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 4: Arrone - Giulianova - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 5: Torricella Sicura – Valle Castellana - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 6: Sassoferrato - Monte Petrano - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2024
More articles