Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: Roglic wins punchy finish, Kämna new leader

Primoz roglic ta - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023: Roglic wins punchy finish, Kämna new leaderfoto: Cor VosPrimoz Roglic outguns Julian Alaphilippe and Adam Yates in the punchy finale of the Tirreno's 4th stage. Lennard Kämna moves into the lead of the general classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage 2023 Tirreno-Adriatico

1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
3. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
4. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
5. Tao Geoghegan Hart (gbr) s.t.
6. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
7. Victor Lafay (fra) s.t.
8. João Almeida (por) s.t.
9. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) s.t.
10. Hugh Carthy (gbr) s.t.

17. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 0.05
20. Brandon McNulty (usa) + 0.12
33. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 0.29
36. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 0.39

GC after stage 4
1. Lennard Kämna (ger)
2. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.06
3. João Almeida (por) + 0.08
4. Brandon McNulty (usa) + 0.13
5. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.15
6. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 0.17
7. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.18
8. Tao Geoghegan Hart (gbr) + 0.19
9. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 0.26
10 Enric Mas (spa) + 0.27

13. Hugh Carthy (usa) + 0.34
14. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.37
15. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.41
17. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.42
19. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 0.45
22. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 0.48

Race report
Five riders break clear just after the start. Davide Bais, Filippo Magli, Mads Würtz Schmidt, Valerio Conti and Lucas Eriksson carve out a gap of over 6 minutes.

On the approach to the first climb to the line the five are caught and the race can start all over again – and now for real.

Honoré attacks after the first finish passage and he opens up a 30 seconds gap, but he is caught as soon as the road goes up again. Alaphilippe opens the finale moments later on the same climb. A reassembly of pre-race favourites takes place, but Van der Poel and Girmay missed out. They rejoin the first group just before the penultimate climb to the line, only to lose contact again on the incline. Pidcock and Sheffield are also distanced.

A regroupment takes place before the finish climb, while both Pidcock and Van Aert hit the deck with 4 kilometres to go.

Leader Ganna can’t follow the pace on the climb to the line before Roglic sprints to a commanding triumph. Alaphilippe and Yates finish in second and third without ever being in real contention for the win.

Kämna is the new GC leader, while Roglic moves up to second place and Almeida now sits in third.

Another interesting read: route 4th 2023 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 stage 4: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Primoz Roglic

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Tirreno - Adriatico 2023: Overview Sprint triumph Philipsen, Roglic seals GC victory - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Roglic completes hattrick in Osimo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Roglic wins mountain top sprint in Sassotetto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Philipsen sprints to victory, Ganna still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Sprint victory Jakobsen, Ganna still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Ganna storms into leader's jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Stage 1: Starting times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 3: Follonica – Foligno - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 1: ITT Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 2: Camaiore – Follonica - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 5: Morro d’Oro – Sarnano-Sassotetto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 6: Osimo Stazione – Osimo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!