Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 Route stage 5: Castellalto - Castelfidardo

Tirreno-Adriatico 2021Sunday 14 March - At 205 kilometres, the race from Castellalto to Castelfidardo is this year's 'Tappa dei Muri' - or, 'Stage of the Walls' -, which is a yearly treat at the Tirreno-Adriatico.

The first part of the race runs mostly along the Adriatic Sea and is entirely flat. Then, after 100 kilometres, the riders enter a finishing circuit and the characteristics of the route change dramatically.

The 23.5 kilometres circuit is repeated four times, all featuring a series of short but steep climbs (the ‘muri’). The Via Valle Oscura stands out; this is a 1.8 kilometres ascent with at its heart a section of 1 kilometres that is averaging 14.9%

The last time over the Via Valle Oscura is with 19 kilometres out. The riders fly down the hill to enter another short climb that they tackled four times before.

The race will be decided after the last passage in San Rocchetto. After leaving the circuit the final 3 kilometres open with 500 metres at 8.2% before leveling out to 4.6%. Short descends and ascends play leapfrog until the last 500 metres rise at 8.6% to the line.

Last year’s ‘Tappa dei Muri’ was won by Mathieu van der Poel. The Dutchman triumphed from the breakaway, outgunning fellow attackers Ruben Guerreiro and Matteo Fabbro in the finale.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint comes with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Another interesting read: results 5th stage 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 stage 5: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Tirreno - Adriatico 2021: Overview Van Aert wins ITT, Pogacar seals GC triumph - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 7: Starting times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Würtz Schmidt wins five-up sprint, Pogacar keeps GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 1: Lido di Camaiore - Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Chiusdino - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Monticiano - Gualdo Tadino - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Terni - Prati di Tivo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Castelraimondo - Lido di Fermo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage win and GC lead Pogacar in Queen Stage - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Van der Poel outguns Van Aert, who keeps GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Uphill sprint triumph Alaphilippe, Van Aert still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Van Aert sprints to first leader's jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!