Paris-Nice 2024: Skjelmose wins sprint-à-trois, McNulty regains yellow

Mattias Skjelmose - Paris-Nice 2024: Skjelmose wins sprint-à-trois, McNulty regains yellow jerseyfoto: Cor VosMatteo Jorgenson strikes from the GC group on the Côte de La Colle-sur-Loup. Mattias Skjelmose and Brandon McNulty rejoin him after the summit and the trio opens up a 1 minute lead. Skjelmose wins the three-up sprint, while McNulty moves back into the overall race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2024 Paris-Nice

1. Mattias Skjelmose (den)
2. Brandon McNulty (usa) s.t.
3. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) s.t.
4. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 0.52
5. Harold Tejada (col) + 0.53
6. Aurélien Paret-Peintre (fra) s.t.
7. Felix Gall (aut) s.t.
8. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
9. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
10. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.

11. Luke Plapp (aus) s.t.
13. João Almeida (por) + 1.20
14. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 1.23
16. Santiago Buitrago (col) + 2.39

GC after stage 6
1. Brandon McNulty (usa)
2. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) + 0.23
3. Luke Plapp (aus) + 0.34
4. Mattias Skjelmose (den) + 0.54
5. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 1.03
6. Egan Bernal (col) + 1.14
7. João Almeida (por) + 1.30
8. Felix Gall (aut) + 1.36
9. Harold Tejada (col) + 1.37
10. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 1.39

11. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 1.44

Race report
The battle for the breakaway is still raging when the riders tackle the Col des Lèques. Bruno Armirail, Christian Scaroni, Georg Zimmerman and Mathieu Burgaudeau ride away from the main group on the slopes before Michael Storer and Gijs Leemreize make it across. Scaroni outsprints Burgaudeau at the summit, while Laurence Pithie, Marco Haller, Mads Pedersen and Cedric Beullens make it across on descent.

Burgaudeau uses the Côte de la Blachette to take revange on Scaroni to best him in the KOM sprint. He repeats this on the Col de Gourdon, so the Frenchman extends his lead in the KOM competition.

The attackers are caught on descent, while Matteo Jorgenson strikes on the Côte de La Colle-sur-Loup. He reaches the summit 12 seconds ahead of Remco Evenepoel, Mattias Skjelmose and Luke Plapp. The other GC favourites rejoin them a little later, before Santiago Buitrago goes down on descent.

Skjelmose and McNulty join forces in the chase behind Jorgenson. The two make the catch with 25 kilometres left to race before the trio opens up a 50 seconds lead.

The home straight runs slighly uphill, which suits Skjelmose like a glove. He wins the sprint with a few bike lenths, while McNulty finishes in second to regain the overall race lead.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage 2024 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2024 stage 6: live tracker, profiles, videos

Click on the images to zoom

Mattias Skjelmose

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 2024 Overview - Paris - Nice 2024 Winners and records - Paris-Nice Hero Sean 'King' Kelly - Paris-Nice Evenepoel wins in Nice, Jorgenson takes GC triumph - Paris-Nice 2024 Vlasov wins at Madone d’Utelle, McNulty retains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij wins in Sisteron, Plapp still leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Solo triumph Buitrago, Plapp takes GC lead - Paris-Nice 2024 UAE Team Emirates wins TTT, McNulty new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Stage 3: Start times TTT - Paris - Nice 2024 De Kleijn powers to victory, Pithie new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 1: Les Mureaux - Les Mureaux - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 2: Thoiry - Montargis - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 3: Auxerre - Auxerre - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 5: Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 7: Nice - Madone d'Utelle - Paris-Nice 2024
More articles