Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 2: Thoiry - Montargis

Paris-Nice 2024Monday 4 March - The 2nd stage of Paris-Nice goes from Thoiry to Montargis. The 177.6 kilometres route is likely to see a bunch sprint at its end, unless echelons blow the race apart.

It has been a while since Montargis saw its last pro-peloton. In 2010, the Tour de France finished in the delightful town in the Gâtinais region. Mark Cavendish took the spoils ahead of Gerald Ciolek and Edvald Bosson Hagen. Five years before that it was Robbie McEwen who outgunned Tom Boonen.

The last Paris-Nice finish in Montargis was even longer ago. In 2004, Pedro Horrillo turned out on top in a race that was pepped up by crosswinds. Which seems to be the only way to prevent a regular bunch sprint this time also. Two minor hills in the first part of the route, the rest is flat.

Montargis bills itself as the Venice of the Gâtinais. Nestling on the crosspoints where several canals and rivers meet, its 131 walkways and footbridges form an intricate latticework.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint comes with 6, 4 and 2 seconds.

Ride the route yourself? Download GPX stage 2 Paris-Nice 2024.

Another interesting read: results 2nd stage 2024 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2024 stage 2: route, profiles, videos

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 2024 Overview - Paris - Nice 2024 Winners and records - Paris-Nice Hero Sean 'King' Kelly - Paris-Nice Evenepoel wins in Nice, Jorgenson takes GC triumph - Paris-Nice 2024 Vlasov wins at Madone d’Utelle, McNulty retains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Skjelmose wins sprint-à-trois, McNulty regains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij wins in Sisteron, Plapp still leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Solo triumph Buitrago, Plapp takes GC lead - Paris-Nice 2024 UAE Team Emirates wins TTT, McNulty new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Stage 3: Start times TTT - Paris - Nice 2024 Kooij sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 1: Les Mureaux - Les Mureaux - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 3: Auxerre - Auxerre - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 5: Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 6: Sisteron - La Colle-sur-Loup - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 7: Nice - Madone d'Utelle - Paris-Nice 2024
More articles