Paris-Nice 2024: Kooij sprints to first leader’s jersey

Olav Kooij pn - Paris-Nice 2024: Kooij sprints to first leader's jerseyfoto: Cor VosOlav Kooij sprints to victory in the streets of Les Mureaux. The Dutch sprinter bests Mads Pedersen in a close finish, while Laurence Pithie finishes in third position. Kooij is the first leader on GC. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage 2024 Paris-Nice

1. Olav Kooij (nld)
2. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
3. Laurence Pithie (nzl) s.t.
4. Nils Eekhoff (nld) s.t.
5. Madis Mikhels (est) s.t.
6. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
7. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
8. Mattias Skjelmose (den) s.t.
9. Sandy Dujardin (fra) s.t.
10. Kaden Groves (aus) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Olav Kooij (nld)
2. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.04
3. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) s.t.
4. Laurence Pithie (nzl) + 0.06
5. Remco Evenepoel (bel) s.t.
6. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.08
7. Nils Eekhoff (nld) + 0.10
8. Madis Mikhels (est) s.t.
9. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
10. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.

Race report
Mathieu Burgaudeau, Stefan Bissegger and Jonas Rutsch attack from the gun. The trio races to a 3 minutes lead. Which is all they get. The breakaway is history with 39 kilometres remaining.

Matteo Jorgenson takes a 6 seconds time bonus in the intermediate sprint, Remco Evenepoel takes 4, and Egan Bernal 2. They push on with Victor Campenaerts, but they are brought back.

Bernal strikes on the Côte d’Herbeville and Evenepoel counter-attacks. The other pre-race favourites beridge across before the main group also appears.

Then Anthony Turgis gives it a go, but he is caught inside the last 2 kilometres.

Two riders excel in the ensuing sprint. Mads Pedersen and Olav Kooij. The latter takes the win with a small margin. Obviously, he is also the first GC leader.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage 2024 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2024 stage 1: video, route, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Olav Kooij

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 2024 Overview - Paris - Nice 2024 Winners and records - Paris-Nice Hero Sean 'King' Kelly - Paris-Nice Evenepoel wins in Nice, Jorgenson takes GC triumph - Paris-Nice 2024 Vlasov wins at Madone d’Utelle, McNulty retains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Skjelmose wins sprint-à-trois, McNulty regains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij wins in Sisteron, Plapp still leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Solo triumph Buitrago, Plapp takes GC lead - Paris-Nice 2024 UAE Team Emirates wins TTT, McNulty new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Stage 3: Start times TTT - Paris - Nice 2024 De Kleijn powers to victory, Pithie new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 2: Thoiry - Montargis - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 3: Auxerre - Auxerre - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 5: Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 6: Sisteron - La Colle-sur-Loup - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 7: Nice - Madone d'Utelle - Paris-Nice 2024
More articles