Paris-Nice 2021: Cort wins final stage, Schachmann takes GC in bizarre finale

Magnus Cort pn - Paris-Nice 2021: Cort wins final stage, Schachmann takes GC in bizarre finalefoto: Cor VosMax Schachmann wins Paris-Nice after Primoz Roglic was isolated in the finale due to two crashes. Aleksandr Vlasov and Ion izagirre round out the podium, while Magnus Cort sprints to triumph in the last stage. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage Paris-Nice 2021

1. Magnus Cort (den)
2. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
3. Pierre Latour (fra) s.t.
4. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
5. Warren Barguil (fra) s.t.
6. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
7. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
8. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) s.t.
9. Yves Lampaert (bel) s.t.
10. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) s.t.

56. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 3.08

Final GC Paris-Nice 2021
1. Maximilian Schachmann (ger)
2. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 0.19
3. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.23
4. Lucas Hamilton (aus) + 0.41
5. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 0.42
6. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 1.14
7. Jack Haig (aus) + 1.18
8. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) + 1.29
9. Aurélien Paret Peintre (fra) + 1.31
10. Gino Mäder (swi) + 1.32

Race report
Dylan van Baarle crests the Côte Duranus in first position, ahead Dylan Teuns and Sergio Henao. The three push on in the descent with Quentin Pacher, Dorion Godon and Louis Meintjes. The peloton brings the six back.

In the run-in to the second Duranus ascent Tim De Clercq, Jonas Rutsch, Edward Theuns and Sven Erik Bystrøm strike. Bol, Oldani and Barguil track the four down. Laurens De Plus also bridges across.

LL Sanchez, Neilands, Matthews, Fraile, Trentin, Bernard, Touze, Theuns and Geschke go after the leaders and close down the gap in the last 30 kilometres.

While Rutsch goes solo in the last 25 kilometres Roglic crashes and the GC leader is forced to chase. Bystrøm, Barguil and Bernard rejoin Rutsch.

Bora-Hansgrohe and Astana work together to put pressure on Roglic, who is chasing all alone by now – and the gap is growing. Meanwhile, Rutsch can’t follow the pace on the last ascent of the Duranus.

The peloton gobbles up the remaining attackers before the finish climb and neutralizes an attack by Mäder, Neilands and Guillaume Martin in the last kilometres

The race comes down to a sprint of a diminished peloton. Cort claims victory ahead of Laporte and Latour.

Schachmann finishes in tenth position to win the Race to the Sun for the second consecutive year. Vlasov and Ion Izagirre round out the podium.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage Paris-Nice 2021.

Paris-Nice 2021 stage 8: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Magnus Cort

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 GC leader Roglic pockets Queen Stage - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic wins uphill sprint to extend GC lead - Paris-Nice 20 Bennett sprints to victory, Roglic still leader - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic solos to yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Bissegger takes ITT win and yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 3: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Sprint triumph Bol, Matthews new leader - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 1: Saint-Cyr-l'École - Saint-Cyr-l'École - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Oinville-sur-Montcient - Amilly - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Gien - Gien - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Chalon-sur-Saône - Chiroubles - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Vienne - Bollène - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Brignoles - Biot - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Le Broc - Valdeblore La Colmiane - Paris-Nice 20 Bennett sprints to first yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!