Paris-Nice 2019: Sprint win Bennet, Kwiatkowksi still leader

Stage 6 in Paris-Nice is far from flat, still the race comes down to a bunch sprint. San Bennett outguns Arnaud Démare and Matteo Trentin, while Michal Kwiatkowski retains the yellow jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage Paris-Nice 2019

1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
3. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
4. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
5. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
6. Anthony Turgis (fra) s.t.
7. Florian Sénéchal (fra) s.t.
8. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
9. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
10. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.

Stand na 6e etappe

GC after stage 6
1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.18
3. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.22
4. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 1.00
5. Bob Jungels (lux) s.t.
6. Nairo Quintana (col) + 1.04
7. Felix Großschartner (aut) + 1.08
8. Jack Haig (aus) + 1.17
9. Rudy Molard (fra) + 1.21
10. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.24

Race report
The breakaway features Alex Kirsch, Laurent Pichon and Mauro Finetto. They open up a gap of 3 minutes before they are brought back inside the last 50 kilometres. Just before the second climb of the day, Côte de Mazaugues, the peloton breaks. All GC riders and most sprinters are in the first group, but Groenewegen is trapped at the back.

LL Sánchez takes a time bonus of 3 seconds in the first intermediate sprint, while Haig takes 1. Kwiatkowski wins 3 seconds in the last intermediate and LL Sánchez 2. They push on together, but are brought back inside the last 3 kilometres.

In the ensuing bunch sprint San Bennett shows he is ready to take on Milan-San Remo. He outsprints Arnaud Démare and Matteo Trentin to take his second victory in this year’s Paris-Nice.

Michal Kwiatkowksi finishes safely in the main group to retain race leader.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage Paris-Nice 2019.

Paris-Nice 2019 stage 6: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Sam Bennett

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2019 Overview - Paris-Nice 2019 Ion Izagirre wins final stage, Bernal seals GC victory - Paris-Nice 2019 Martínez climbs to Queen Stage victory, Bernal new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Simon Yates victorious in ITT, Kwiatkowski still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Cort brings breakaway home, Kwiatkowski new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Bennet outsprints Ewan, Groenewegen still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen again in windswept race - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 1: Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 2: Les Bréviaires - Bellegarde - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 3: Cepoy - Moulins - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 4: Vichy - Péluchin - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 5: ITT in Barbentane - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 7: Nice - Turini Pass - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!