Paris-Nice 2019: Martínez climbs to Queen Stage victory, Bernal new leader

The Queen Stage of Paris-Nice takes in five intermediate climbs to conclude on the spectacular Turini Pass. Early attacker Daniel Felipe Martínez wins ahead of Miguel Ángel López. Egan Bernal rounds out the Colombian party and moves into the GC lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage Paris-Nice 2019

1. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col)
2. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 0.06
3. Nicolas Edet (fra) + 0.20
4. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
5. Jonathan Hivert (fra) + 0.55
6. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 2.03
7. Julien El Fares (fra) s.t.
8. Sergio Henao (col) + 2.08
9. Victor de la Parte (spa) + 2.13
10. Alessandro De Marchi (ita) + 2.15

13. Nairo Quintana (col) 3.43
14. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
15. Jack Haig (aus) 4.05
18. Romain Bardet (fra) + 4.22
19. George Bennett (NZ) + 4.39
20. Ilur Zakarin (rus) + 4.59
22. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) + 5.04
26. Bob Jungels (lux) 6.07
31. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 6.59
39. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 9.10

GC after stage 7
1. Egan Bernal (col)
2. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.45
3. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.46
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) + 1.03
5. Jack Haig (aus) + 1.21
6. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.45
7. George Bennett (nzl) + 2.20
8. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 2.52
9. Rudy Molard (fra) + 3.02
10. Bob Jungels (lux) + 3.06

Race report
KOM leader Thomas De Gendt takes full points on the first climb of six, the Côte de Gattières. The peloton remains bunched until the first slopes of the second climb, Côte de Gourdon, and then a group of 31 riders opens up a gap. De Gendt is on board, as are Yates, Nieve, López, Henao, Pantano, Martínez, Ciccone, Cort, García, Koren, Poljanski, Cherel, Frank, Sutherland, Moinard, Démare, Gesbert, Pichon, Eenkhoorn, Teunissen, Edet, Le Turnier, De la Parte, De Marchi, Hivert, Gautier, Pacher, Combaud, EL Fares, Siskevicius and Carretero. Another seven men bridge across: Spilak, Monfort, Gilbert, Politt, Declercq, Bernard and Davies

De Gendt is the first rider over the Gourdon and he also pockets most points on the Côte de Coursegoules.

Frank crashes out of contention in the flat section leading to the Côte de Gillette. On the climb the lead extends to 6 minutes and De Gendt once again cements his KOM lead.

The best climbers in the front group crest the Côte de Pelasque with a stable lead. De Gendt is the first rider on the top.

Poljanski heads out alone on the Turini Pass, but it doesn’t come as a surprise that Yates, López and Martínez battle for the stage win. They lead the race in the last 7 kilometres. Edet regains contact and goes alone before López rejoins him. The Colombian leaves the Frenchman behind. Meanwhile, Kelderman can’t follow the pace in the main group.

Martínez bridges across to López with 4 kilometres. Yates and Edet also hook on before the Briton strikes inside the last 2 kilometres. But he doesn’t manage to drop his rivals. Meanwhile, leader Kwiatkowski can’t follow the pace in the main group.

Then Martínez makes the decisive move with an attack under the flamme rouge. He powers to the line and wins the Queen Stage ahead of López.

Bernal takes over the reins in the GC group as his team-mate Kwiatkowski falters. Only Quintana is strong enough to follow and they cross the line together to move up to first and third place. Gilbert nestles in second after his day in the breakaway.

Another interesting read: route Queen Stage Parijs-Nice 2019.

Paris-Nice 2019 stage 7: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2019 Overview - Paris-Nice 2019 Ion Izagirre wins final stage, Bernal seals GC victory - Paris-Nice 2019 Sprint win Bennet, Kwiatkowksi still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Simon Yates victorious in ITT, Kwiatkowski still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Cort brings breakaway home, Kwiatkowski new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Bennet outsprints Ewan, Groenewegen still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen again in windswept race - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 1: Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 2: Les Bréviaires - Bellegarde - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 3: Cepoy - Moulins - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 4: Vichy - Péluchin - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 5: ITT in Barbentane - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 6: Peynier - Brignoles - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!