Paris-Nice 2019: Groenewegen sprints to first leader’s jersey

Following a flat and echelon-marked 1st stage, Dylan Groenewegen sprints to victory in Paris-Nice. He pips Caleb Ewan with an ultimate jump, while Fabio Jakobsen finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage Paris-Nice 2019

1. Dylan Groenewegen (nld)
2. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
3. Fabio Jakobsen (nld) s.t.
4. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
5. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
6. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
7. Arnaud Démare (fra) + 0.01
8. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
9. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
10. Anthony Turgis (fra) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Dylan Groenewegen (nld)
2. Caleb Ewan (aus) + 0.04
3. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.05
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) s.t.
5. Fabio Jakobsen (nld) + 0.06
6. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.09
7. Rudy Molard (fra) s.t.
8. Sam Bennett (irl) + 0.10
9. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
10. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.

21. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
23. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
34. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
35. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
37. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
38. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
42. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
44. Bob Jungels (lux) s.t.
45. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
46. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
75. Esteban Chaves (col) + 1.12
79. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 1.13
81. Marc Soler (spa) s.t.
82. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 1.14
112. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 2.58
126. Fabio Aru (ita) + 3.00
128. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
131. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 3.01
139. Sergio Henao (col) + 4.41

Race report
Amaël Moinard, Damien Gaudin and Romain Combaud form the breakaway. The French trio opens up a gap of more than 3 minutes, but it goes down fast when cross-winds cause splits in the peloton after 40 kilometres. Niki Terpstra, Philippe Gilbert, Liliane Calmejane, Louis Meintjes, Thomas De Gendt and Domenico Pozzovivo are among the riders dropped of the back, but after 5 kilometres of turmoil the race quiets down again. Meanwhile, Michael Matthews is forced to leave the Race to the Sun after a crash.

Inside the last 45 kilometres another echelon is initiated, while the three leaders are gobbled up by the first group. Title defender Marc Soler, former winner Sergio Henao, Simon Yates, Marcel Kittel and Mark Cavendish are chasing.

LL Sánchez wins the first intermediate sprint ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski and Egan Bernal, while Yates makes it back with 7 kilometres remaining. A little later Kwiatkowski outpowers LL Sánchez for the time bonuses of the second intermediate sprint.

Philippe Gilbert strikes inside the last 2 kilometres, but he is brought back in the last kilometre. In the ensuing millimeter sprint Dylan Groenewegen outguns Caleb Ewan, while Fabio Jakobsen finishes in third.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage Paris-Nice 2019.

Paris-Nice 2019 stage 1: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Dylan Groenewegen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2019 Overview - Paris-Nice 2019 Ion Izagirre wins final stage, Bernal seals GC victory - Paris-Nice 2019 Martínez climbs to Queen Stage victory, Bernal new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Sprint win Bennet, Kwiatkowksi still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Simon Yates victorious in ITT, Kwiatkowski still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Cort brings breakaway home, Kwiatkowski new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Bennet outsprints Ewan, Groenewegen still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen again in windswept race - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 2: Les Bréviaires - Bellegarde - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 3: Cepoy - Moulins - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 4: Vichy - Péluchin - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 5: ITT in Barbentane - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 6: Peynier - Brignoles - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 7: Nice - Turini Pass - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!