Paris-Nice 2019: Cort brings breakaway home, Kwiatkowski new leader

The 4th stage of Paris-Nice is tailor-made for attackers. Magnus Cort wins the long and bumpy race, besting Thomas de Gendt with a late attack. Michal Kwiatkowski is the new leader in the GC. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Paris-Nice 2019

1. Magnus Cort (den)
2. Thomas De Gendt (bel) + 0.07
3. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 0.13
4. Alessandro De Marchi (ita) + 0.18
5. Lilian Calmejane (fra) + 0.48
6. Valentin Madouas (fra) s.t.
7. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
8. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
9. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.
10. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.05
3. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.10
4. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.11
5. Matteo Trentin (ita) + 0.14
6. Tony Gallopin (fra) + 0.15
7. Rudy Molard (fra) + 0.17
8. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
9. Oliver Naesen (bel) 0.18
10. Felix Großschartner (aut) s.t.

14. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.19
16. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
18. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
19. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
20. Bob Jungels (lux) + 0.29
21. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 1.06

Race report
Thomas de Gendt, Alessandro De Marchi, Christoph Pfingsten, Julien Bernard, Olivier Le Gac, Mathias Le Turnier and Kevin Reza jump clear after almost 10 kilometres. Magnus Cort, Giulio Ciccone, Elie Gesbert and Damien Gaudin jump across before Eduard Grosu and Evaldas Siskevicius make it thirteen at the front. They put almost 7 minutes into the peloton.

Leader Dylan Groenewegen is dropped on the Côte de Trèves, a climb that is crested with 70 kilometres remaining. After the next climb, Côte de Condrieu, the front group is down to De Gendt, De Marchi, Ciccone, Bernard, Gesbert, Cort and Le Turnier.

With one local lap of 20 kilometres to go the lead of the front group has fallen to 1 minute, while De Gendt, De Marchi, Ciccone and Cort are the remaining leaders inside the last 2 kilometres.

Cort accelerates under the flamme rouge and De Gendt sets off in pursuit, but the Dane is too strong. He opens up a comfortable gap to claim his first victory of 2019.

Michal Kwiatkowski finishes in the main group and moves into the GC lead.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage Paris-Nice 2019.

Paris-Nice 2019 stage 4: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Magnus Cort

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 2019 Overview - Paris-Nice 2019 Ion Izagirre wins final stage, Bernal seals GC victory - Paris-Nice 2019 Martínez climbs to Queen Stage victory, Bernal new leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Sprint win Bennet, Kwiatkowksi still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Simon Yates victorious in ITT, Kwiatkowski still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Bennet outsprints Ewan, Groenewegen still leader - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen again in windswept race - Paris-Nice 2019 Groenewegen sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 1: Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Saint-Germain-en-Laye - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 2: Les Bréviaires - Bellegarde - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 3: Cepoy - Moulins - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 5: ITT in Barbentane - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 6: Peynier - Brignoles - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 7: Nice - Turini Pass - Paris-Nice 2019 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!