Giro Rosa 2020: Sprint win Longo Borghini, leader’s jersey Van der Breggen

Elisa Longo Borghini outguns Anna van der Breggen in a two-up sprint after a tough finale in the 8th stage of the Giro Rosa. The Dutch rider moves into the pink jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage Giro Rosa 2020

1. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita)
2. Anna van der Breggen (nld) s.t.
3. Mikayla Harvey (nzl) + 0.31
4. Katrine Aalerud (nor) + 1.06
5. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 1.19
6. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) s.t.
7. Pauliena Rooijakkers (nld) s.t.
8. Liane Lippert (ger) + 1.31
9. Marta Cavalli (ita) + 1.52
10. Sofia Bertizzolo (ita) + 1.58

GC after stage 8
1. Anna van der Breggen (nld)
2. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 1.10
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 2.23
4. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 2.25
5. Mikayla Harvey (nzl)+ 2.51
6. Ashleigh Moolman (rsa) + 4.48
7. Mavi García (spa) + 5.58
8. Ane Santesteban (spa) + 6.17
9. Marianne Vos (nld) + 7.29
10. Elizabeth Banks (gbr) + 7.49

Race report
Strong winds split the peloton into three after 20 kilometres. The first two front groups rejoin, while the third group is distanced. Yet, it all comes together halfway through the race.

When the road goes uphill Lucy Kennedy, Katia Ragusa, Amy Pieters, Pauliena Rooijakkers, Jelena Eric, Coryna Rivera, Ruth Winder and Lisa Brennauer jump clear at the front of the race, while Mariia Novolodskaia bridges across. The gap never exceeds 30 seconds.

Ilaria Sanguineti joins the breakaway inside the last 10 kilometres, while Novolodskaia drops back. But this doe not change anything, as the attackers are caught with 5 kilometres to go.

In the last kilometres Van der Breggen and Longo Borghini attack from a lead group with Moolman, Harvey, Niewiadoma, Fisher Black, Uttrup Ludwig and Deignan. The duo pushes on together on the climb to the line, where the Italian outguns the Dutch rider with a few milemetres.

Van der Breggen is the new leader in the general classification.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage 2020 Giro Rosa.

Giro Rosa 2020 stage 8: route & profile

Click on the images to zoom

Elisa Longo Borghini

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Giro Rosa 2020 Evita Muzic wins last stage, Van der Breggen seals GC - Giro Rosa 2020 Sprint victory Kopecky, pink jersey Van Vleuten crashes - Giro Rosa 2020 Vos again, Van Vleuten keeps pink - Giro Rosa 2020 Sprint victory Vos, Van Vleuten retains pink - Giro Rosa 2020 Elizabeth Banks solos to win, Van Vleuten still leader - Giro Rosa 2020 Vos wins on steep ramp, Van Vleuten still in pink - Giro Rosa 2020 Van Vleuten solos to victory and maglia rosa - Giro Rosa 2020 Longo Borghini first leader - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 1: Grosseto - Grosseto - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 2: Civitella Paganico - Arcidosso - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 3: Santa Fiora - Assisi - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 4: Assisi - Tivoli - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 5: Terracina - Terracina - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 6: Torre del Greco - Nola - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 7: Nola - Maddaloni - Giro Rosa 2020 Route stage 9: Motta Montecorvino - Motta Montecorvino - Giro Rosa 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!