E3 Saxo Classic 2024: Van der Poel crowns long-range solo attack

Mathieu van der Poel e3 - E3 Saxo Classic 2024: Live race reportfoto: Cor VosWhile Mathieu van der Poel strikes the the base of Paterberg, his main rival Wout van Aert hits the deck. The World Champon reaches the summit 30 seconds earlier and the rest of the race is a chasing game. Van Aert closes in at first, but then the gap goes out again and Van der Poel wins the E3 Saxo Classic for the first time in his career. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results E3 Saxo Classic 2024

1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 1.31
3. Wout van Aert (bel) + 1.34
4. Tim Wellens (bel) + 1.48
5. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) + 1.50
6. Jhonatan Narváez (col) + 1.52
7. Nils Politt (ger) + 2.48
8. Toms Skujins (lat) s.t.
9. Vincenzo Albanese (ita) s.t.
10. Alex Kirsch (lux) s.t.

Race report
The riders race 51.5 kilometres in the first hour. Which does not make it easy do escape the clutches of the bunch. But then, after roughly 60 kilometres, Emil Herzog, Lorenzo Milesi and Jannik Steimle give it a go. When they realize this could be the right move Mathis Le Berre, Niklas Märkl, Sander De Pestel, Rémi Cavagna, Ivo Oliveira, Jonas Abrahamsen and Jelle Vermoote set off in pursuit. The seven make it ten at the helm after a 20 kilometres chase before opening up a maximum lead of over 5 minutes.

The gap has fallen below 3 minutes when Mathieu van der Poel accelerates on the Taaienberg. He opens up a small gap. Wout van Aert, Jasper Stuyven, Mads Pedersen en Matteo Trentin are the first chasers for awhile before some 20 riders bridge across.

Pedersen heads out alone in the run-up to the Boigneberg gaat Pedersen alleen verder. Mathieu van der Poel and Matteo Jorgenson bgring the Dane back in the climb before the other favourites also come across.

Oier Lazkano accelerates on the Stationsberg with Van der Poel and Van Aert in his wheel. The two leave the Spaniard behind and reach the summit together. But since Van Aert does not wants to take on any of the work load the two are caught by the chasers.

Matteo Jorgenson, Oier Lazkano, Nils Politt and Stefan Küng jump clear to track down the lead group. Lazkano goes solo in the run-up to the Paterberg, while the favourites rejoin the former leaders.

Van der Poel brings back Lazkano on the Paterberg, while Van Aert hits the deck. The World Champion leaves the others behind and forges on alone with roughly 40 kilometres to go.

Van Aert attacks from the chase group on the Oude Kwaremont. He reaches the summit 30 seconds behind the sole leader before he closes in to 11 seconds on the flat. The gap goes out to 16 seconds on the Karnemelkbeekstraat. And continues to grow on the flat.

Van der Poel reaches the base of the Taaienberg 33 seconds ahead of Van Aert. The gap is out to 38 seconds at the summit. The first chasers – Matteo Jorgenson, Biniam Girmay, Jasper Stuyven, Tim Wellens, Jhonatan Narvaez – are 40 seconds more behind.

Van der Poel widens his lead on the flat to win the E3 Saxo Classic for the first time in his career.

Meanwhile, Stuyven rejoins Van Aert in the background and he sprints to second place.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2024 E3 Saxo Classic.

E3 Saxo Classic 2024: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
E3 Saxo Classic 2024: Overview E3 Saxo Classic: Winners and records
More articles