BinckBank Tour 2019: Bennett sprints to third victory

Sam Bennett outguns Dylan Groenewegen in the 3rd stage of the BinckBank Tour. The Irishman extends his lead in a millimetres sprint, while young Jasper Philipsen finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage BinckBank Tour 2019

1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Dylan Groenewegen (nld) s.t.
3. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
4. Jürgen Roelandts (bel) s.t.
5. Florian Sénéchal (fra) s.t.
6. Edward Theuns (bel) s.t.
7. Timothy Dupont (bel) s.t.
8. Jakub Mareczko (ita) s.t.
9. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
10. Amaury Capiot (bel) s.t.

GC after stage 3
1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Jasper Philipsen (bel) + 0.20
3. Dylan Groenewegen (nld) s.t.
4. Lukasz Wisniowski (pol) + 0.22
5. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (bel) s.t.
6. Harry Tanfield (gbr) + 0.23
7. Josef Cerny (cze) s.t.
8. Lars Bak (den) + s.t.
9. Edward Theuns (bel) + 0.24
10. Robert Stannard (nzl) s.t.

Race report
Jan-Willem van Schip is the first rider to strike and Kuznetsov, De Vreese and Verwilst go with him. The Russian loses contact after a bike change, while the remaining three are brought back with 72 kilometres to go.

Steels jumps clear, while Van Keirsbulck and Tanfield bridge across. They open up a gap of 1 minute with one lap of 33 kilometres to go.

The attackers are reeled in inside the last 4 kilometres before Sam Bennett sprints to his third victory in a row. This time not as comfortable as during the first two though, as a photo finish is needed to confirm that the Irishman wins a few millemetres ahead of Dylan Groenewegen. Jasper Philipsen finishes in third.

Another interesting read: route 3rd stage 2019 BinckBank Tour 2019.

BinckBank Tour 2019 stage 3: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Sam Bennett

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 2019 Overview - BinckBank Tour 2019 Naesen wins final stage, De Plus takes GC - BinckBank Tour 2019 Filippo Ganna wins ITT, Tim Wellens extends lead - BinckBank Tour 2019 Hodeg outguns Bennett, Wellens still leader - BinckBank Tour 2019 New leader Wellens wins three-up sprint - BinckBank Tour 2019 Bennett strikes again to extend lead - BinckBank Tour 2019 Sam Bennett sprints to first leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 1: Beveren - Hulst - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 2: Blankenberge - Ardooie - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 4: Houffalize - Houffalize - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 5: Riemst - Venray - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 6: ITT in The Hague - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 7: Sint-Pieters-Leeuw – Geraardsbergen - BinckBank Tour 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!