Vuelta 2017: Marczynski solos to glory in stage 12, Froome loses time but still in lead

The 12th stage of La Vuelta takes in two intermediate climbs to conclude with a 17.5 kilometres drop to the line in Antequera. Attacker Tomasz Marczynski heads out on his own on the last climb to solo to his second stage win in this Vuelta. Leader Chris Froome hits the deck twice in the finale, but retains in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 12th stage 2017 Vuelta

1. Tomasz Marczynski (pol)
2. Omar Fraile (spa) + 0.52
3. José Joaquin Rojas (spa) s.t.
4. Pawel Poljanski (pol) s.t.
5. Stef Clement (nld) s.t.
6. Brendan Canty (aus) + 1.42
7. Anthony Perez (fra) + 2.50
8. Jan Polanc (slo) s.t.
9. Andreas Schillinger (ger) s.t.
10. David Arroyo (spa) + 3.00

13. Alberto Contador (spa) + 7.25
14. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 7.47
15. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
16. David de la Cruz (spa) s.t.
17. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
18. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
19. Nicolas Roche (irl) s.t.
20. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
22. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
23. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.
26. Sam Oomen (nld) s.t.
27. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
28. Tejay van Garderen (usa) s.t.
32. Chris Froome (gbr) + 8.07
33. Wout Poels (nld) s.t.

GC after the 12th stage
1. Chris Froome (gbr)
2. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 0.59
3. Esteban Chaves (col) + 2.13
4. David de la Cruz (spa) + 2.16
5. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 2.17
6. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 2.18
7. Fabio Aru (ita) + 2.37
8. Michael Woods (can) + 2.41
9. Alberto Contador (spa) + 3.13
10. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 3.51

11. Nicolas Roche (irl) + 4.25
12. Tejay van Garderen (usa) s.t.
13. Sam Oomen (nld) + 4.41
14. Wout Poels (nld) + 4.54
15. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 5.50

Race report
Once again, the battle to get in the break away is very intense. Attacks are flying, but it takes some 50 kms before Edward Theuns, Jose Joaquin Rojas, Pawel Poljanski, Andreas Schillinger, Julien Duval, Brendan Canty, Michael Mørkøv, Stef Clement, Jan Polanc, Tomasz Marczynski, Omar Fraile, Anthony Perez, David Arroyo and Peter Koning open a proper gap. It balloons to more than 8 minutes.

Descending the first climb, Puerto de Léon, Mørkøv heads out on his own, while Koning chases him down just before hitting the last climb, El Torcal. Moments later all leaders regroup.

At the foot of the Torcal the peloton is 9 minutes in arrears. When Clement accelerates a lot of riders are dropped. Canty counter attacks on the steeper stretches with only Fraile, Marczynski, Rojas and Poljanski able to follow. Then Marczynski goes solo, while Clement rejoins the chasers when the climb flattens out.

Roche and Contador attacks in the peloton. Following a joint effort Roche gets dropped.

On the top Marczynski is 1 minute ahead of the chasers. Canty hits the deck on descent and Poljanski punctures. Contador crests the Torcal 20 seconds ahead of the favourites. On descent his teammate Theuns waits for him.

Froome hits the deck, too. Poels and Nieve wait for him to open the chase.

Meanwhile, Tomasz Marczynski takes second stage win in this edition of La Vuelta.

Contador ends up as the winner of the day. He puts 42 seconds into Froome and 22 seconds into the other GC riders. The ranking remains unchanged, despite above-mentioned time differences. Froome’s lead to Nibali is now cut to 59 seconds, while Contador’s deficit is down to 3’13”, which is still significant.

Read also: route of the 12th stage 2017 Vuelta.

Vuelta 2017 stage 12: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Tomasz Marczynski

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Vuelta 2017 Riders - Vuelta 2017 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2017 Results - Vuelta 2017 Start times time trial - Vuelta 2017 GC Favourites - Vuelta 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!