Tour de Suisse 2018 Stage 6: Kragh Andersen solos to victory, Porte cements lead

The 6th stage of the Tour de Suisse travels over two snow-covered giants, the Furka Pass and the Klausen Pass. But since the last peak is crested with more than 60 kilometres out, the race comes down to the punchy climb to the line. Breakaway boy Søren Kragh Andersen solos to the win, while leader Richie Porte distances his rivals on the last kilometres to put 12 seconds into them. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage 2018 Tour de Suisse

1. Søren Kragh Andersen (den)
2. Nathan Haas (aus) + 0.10
3. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 0.24
4. Maxime Monfort (bel) + 0.25
5. Cyril Gautier (fra) s.t.
6. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.27
7. Michael Gogl (aut) + 0.29
8. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.39
9. Arthur Vichot (fra) s.t.
10. Mathias Frank (swi) s.t.

11. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
12. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
13. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
14. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
15. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
16. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
17. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
18. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
19. Sam Oomen (nld) s.t.
20. Simon Spilak (slo) s.t.
21. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.

GC after the 6th stage
1. Richie Porte (aus)
2. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.32
3. Sam Oomen (nld) s.t.
4. Enric Mas (spa) + 0.33
5. Jack Haig (aus) + 0.41
6. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.45
7. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.48
8. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.52
9. Simon Spilak (slo) + 0.52
10. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.59

11. Arthur Vichot (fra) + 1.04
12. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.05
13. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 1.10
14. Mathias Frank (swi) + 1.19
15. Bjorg Lambrecht (bel) + 1.25
16. Hugh Carty (gbr) + 1.29
17. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 1.30

Race report
Once the flag is dropped Izagirre (Gorka), Kragh Andersen, Konrad, Wynants, Gogl, Vanmarcke, Gautier, Dougall, Haas, Monfort, Taaramäe, Gołaś, Cort Nielsen, Christian, Quemeneur and Polanc go clear, while Declercq and Keisse chase them down.

On the top of the Furka Pass the front group is down to eleven riders with the peloton almost 4 minutes in arrears. Nathan Haas is first to crest with Mark Christian, Maxime Monfort, Perrig Quemeneur and Sören Kragh Andersen next. On descent the leaders regroup.

With a lead of 3 minutes the front group tackles the Klausen Pass – 25 kilometres at 6%. Keisse and Polanc can’t hold the pace in the first kilometre before Dowgall, Wynants, Declerq and Konrad are dropped in the second part of the climb. Then Taaramäe gives it a go to crest the massive pass 1 minute ahead of the first chasers – Cristian, Haas, Gogl, Monfort, Kragh Andersen and Izagirre -, while the peloton is 5 minutes in arrears. Cristian is second over the top and is the new KOM-leader.

The chasers bring back Taaramäe on descent before he is dropped later on. Christian is forced to chase after a mechanical.

Gogl strikes with 2 kms to go, but he is brought back 1.3 kms before the line. Porte accelerates in the main group with such a pace that he opens up a gap. While Kragh Anderson solos to the win, 10 seconds ahead of Haas, the Tasmanian puts 12 seconds into Kelderman et al. Porte now leads the overall with more than half a minute.

Read also: route 6th stage 2018 Tour de Suisse.

Tour de Suisse 2018 stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour de Suisse 20 Overview - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 9: Stefan Küng powers to ITT victory, while Richie Porte wins the GC - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 8: Démare sprints to victory, Porte still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 7: Nairo Quintana climbs to victory, Richie Porte retains leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 5: Ulissi wins uphill sprint, Porte new leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 4: Juul-Jensen solos to victory, Küng still in yellow - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 3: Colbrelli bests Gaviria and Sagan, Küng still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Peter Sagan, Stefan Küng still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 1: BMC wins team time trial, Küng first leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 1: TTT Frauenfeld - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 2: Frauenfeld - Frauenfeld - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 3: Oberstammheim – Gansingen - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 4: Gansingen – Gstaad - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 5: Gstaad – Leukerbad - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 7: Eschenbach – Arosa - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 8: Circuit Bellinzona - Tour de Suisse 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!