Tour de Suisse 2018 Stage 7: Nairo Quintana climbs to victory, Richie Porte retains leader

The 7th stage of the Tour de Suisse comes down to the 29 kilometres climb to the line in Arosa. Nairo Quintana strikes on the early slopes, gobbles up the breakaway, and climbs to victory. Richie Porte finishes in third to hold on to the yellow jersey, while Quintana climbs to second place overall with Wilco Kelderman now in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage 2018 Tour de Suisse

1. Nairo Quintana (col)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 0.22
3. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
4. Gregor Mühlberger (aut) + 0.38
5. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
6. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
7. Igor Anton (spa) s.t.
8. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.50
9. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
10. Sam Oomen (nld) + 0.59

11. Simon Spilak (slo) + 1.08
14. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 1.21
19. Mathias Frank (swi) + 2.08
24. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 2.33

GC after the 7th stage
1. Richie Porte (aus)
2. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.17
3. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.52
4. Enric Mas (spa) + 0.53
5. Sam Oomen (nld) + 1.13
6. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 1.28
7. Mikel Landa (spa) + 1.31
8. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.37
9. Simon Spilak (slo) + 1.48
10. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 2.26

Race report
Shortly after the start KOM leader Mark Christian, Michael Matthews, Eddie Dunbar, Koen Bouwman, Greg van Avermaet, Yves Lampaert, José Gonçalves, Michael Albasini, Simon Geschke, Silvan Dillier, Cyril Gautier, François Bidard, Oscar Gatto, Tom Leezer, Peter Koning, Tanel Kangert, Gorka Izagirre, Kristijan Koren, Gregor Mühlberger, Julien Bernard, Victor de la Parte, Igor Antón, Joe Dombrowski, Enrico Battaglin, Jan Polanc, Ben Swift, Stefan Denifl, Lilian Calmejane, Romain Sicard and Rein Taaramäe go clear. Christian takes maximum points on the Wasserfluh, thus securing his KOM victory in this year’s Tour de Suisse.

With a lead of 2 minutes the front group tackles the haul up to Arosa. Dombrowski heads out on his own. Once the peloton hits the climb Nairo Quintana goes on the attack. He gobbles up dropped riders and catches Dombrowksi with 16 kms left.

For kilometres Quintana et al are racing half a minute ahead of the group Porte. A string of former attackers are on the Colombian’s wheel.

On the steep sections with 5 kms left Porte goes after the Colombian, who drops his ‘followers’ to go solo. Fuglsang joins Porte on his chase, but they can’t make the catch. On the contrary, Quintana widens the gap when the climb flattens out just before Arosa. He wins the race 22 seconds ahead of Porte with Kelderman another 16 seconds further back. The Dutchman drops to third place overall as Quintana is the new number two, while Porte is still leader.

Read also: route 7th stage 2018 Tour de Suisse.

Tour de Suisse 2018 stage 7: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Nairo Quintana

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour de Suisse 20 Overview - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 9: Stefan Küng powers to ITT victory, while Richie Porte wins the GC - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 8: Démare sprints to victory, Porte still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 6: Kragh Andersen solos to victory, Porte cements lead - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 5: Ulissi wins uphill sprint, Porte new leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 4: Juul-Jensen solos to victory, Küng still in yellow - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 3: Colbrelli bests Gaviria and Sagan, Küng still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Peter Sagan, Stefan Küng still leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 1: BMC wins team time trial, Küng first leader - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 1: TTT Frauenfeld - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 2: Frauenfeld - Frauenfeld - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 3: Oberstammheim – Gansingen - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 4: Gansingen – Gstaad - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 5: Gstaad – Leukerbad - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 6: Fiesch – Gommiswald - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 8: Circuit Bellinzona - Tour de Suisse 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!