Tour de France: Winners and records

Jonas Vingegaard - Tour de France: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosThe Tour de France is the holy grail of cycling. Winning a stage or even wearing the yellow jersey for a day can make a career. Wearing a jersey into Paris can make a life. presents La Grande Boucle's recent winners and record holders.

The Tour de France has 4 jerseys on offer for the various competitions that take place within the race. The most prestigious jersey is the yellow jersey of the GC leader, which unfortunately has been tainted on a few occasions since the turn of the century (see table below). The green jersey is the points classification sought after by sprinters and classics men. The polka dot jersey recognizes the rider who obtains the most mountain points, while the white jersey is a GC for riders under 26.


Year GC Points classification KOM classification Best Young Rider
2023 Jonas Vingegaard Jasper Philipsen Giulio Ciccone Tadej Pogacar
2022 Jonas Vingegaard Wout van Aert Jonas Vingegaard Tadej Pogacar
2021 Tadej Pogacar Mark Cavendish Tadej Pogacar Tadej Pogacar
2020 Tadej Pogacar Sam Bennett Tadej Pogacar Tadej Pogacar
2019 Egan Bernal Peter Sagan Romain Bardet Egan Bernal
2018 Geraint Thomas Peter Sagan Julian Alaphilippe Pierre Latour
2017 Chris Froome Michael Matthews Warren Barguil Simon Yates
2016 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Rafal Majka Adam Yates
2015 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Chris Froome Nairo Quintana
2014 Vincenzo Nibali Peter Sagan Rafal Majka Thibaut Pinot
2013 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Nairo Quintana Nairo Quintana
2012 Bradley Wiggins Peter Sagan Thomas Voeckler Tejay van Garderen
2011 Cadel Evans Mark Cavendish Samuel Sanchez Pierre Rolland
2010 Andy Schleck * Alessandro Petacchi Anthony Charteau Andy Schleck
2009 Alberto Contador Thor Hushovd Egoi Martinez Andy Schleck
2008 Carlos Sastre Óscar Freire Bernhard Kohl Andy Schleck
2007 Alberto Contador Tom Boonen Mauricio Soler Alberto Contador
2006 Óscar Pereiro Robbie McEwen Michael Rasmussen Damiano Cunego
2005 no winner ** Thor Hushovd Michael Rasmussen Jaroslav Popovitsj
2004 no winner ** Robbie McEwen Richard Virenque Vladimir Karpets
2003 no winner ** Baden Cooke Richard Virenque Denis Mentsjov
2002 no winner ** Robbie McEwen Laurent Jalabert Ivan Basso
2001 no winner ** Erik Zabel Laurent Jalabert Óscar Sevilla
2000 no winner ** Erik Zabel Santiago Botero Franciso Mancebo

* Initially Alberto Contador was the winner. He had to give back his title after charges of doping.

** Lance Armstrong’s victories (1999 t/m 2005) have been taken from him due to the use of doping. No new winner was declared.

Tour de France Records

Four riders remain in the record books for having won the Tour de France five times: Eddy Merckx, Bernhard Hinault, Miguel Indurain and Jacques Anquetil .

Anquetil pulled off the unthinkable in 1961 when he held the yellow jersey from the first day of the race right up until the end.

Peter Sagan holds the record for green jersey wins with seven.

Richard Virenque is the King of the Mountains in the Tour de France. He won the polka dot jersey 4 times in a row from 1994-1997, and added a further three jerseys in 1999, 2003 and 2004.

Tadej Pogacar took home the white jersey four times, while Andy Schleck and Jan Ullrich both won the young riders classification three times.

In 1969, Eddy Merckx won the yellow jersey, the green jersey and the polka dot jersey, the only man ever to do so in a single Tour de France. He also has the most stage wins with 34, a record that he shares with Mark Cavendish.

The youngest winner ever was Henri Cornet, winning the 1904 Tour at 19 years of age. The oldest winner is Firmin Lambot, who was 36 years when he won in 1922.

Cadel Evans is the oldest winner post WWII – in 2011 he was 34 when he finally won his yellow jersey after years of trying.

Tadej Pogacar is the youngest post-WW2 Tour de France winner. He turned 22 the day after he won the 2020 edition.

Alberto ContadorMark CavendishChris FroomePeter SaganNairo QuintanaBradley WigginsMichael MatthewsRafal MajkaSam BennettGeraint ThomasThibaut PinotRomain BardetAdam YatesJulian AlaphilippeSimon YatesWarren BarguilEgan BernalJasper PhilipsenTadej PogacarGiulio CicconeWout van AertJonas Vingegaard

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
1 comment(s)

Related articles

More articles