Tour de France 2023: Poels wins in Saint-Gervais Mont-Blanc, Vingegaard still leader

Wout Poels - Tour de France 2023: Poels wins in Saint-Gervais Mont-Blanc, Vingegaard still leaderfoto: Cor VosWout Poels leaves his fellow attackers Wout van Aert and Marc Soler behind on the Côte des Amerands. The Dutchman powers on to take - with Liège-Bastogne-Liège - the best win in his career. Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogacar cross the line together and the Dane retains the yellow jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 15th stage 2023 Tour de France

1. Wout Poels (nld)
2. Wout van Aert (bel) + 2.08
3. Mathieu Burgaudeau (fra) + 3.00
4. Lawson Craddock (usa) + 3.10
5. Mikel Landa (spa) 3.14
6. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
7. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 3.32
8. Mattias Skjelmose (den) + 3.43
9. Simon Gugliemi (fra) + 3.59
10. Warren Barguil (fra) + 4.20

16. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 6.04
17. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
18. Adam Yates (gbr) + 6.24
19. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 6.42
20. Sepp Kuss (usa) + 7.05
22. David Gaudu (fra) + 7.15
23. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 7.24
25. Jai Hindley (aus) + 7.58
26. Felix Gall (aut) + 8.17

GC after stage 15
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.10
3. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 5.21
4. Adam Yates (gbr) + 5.40
5. Jai Hindley (aus) + 6.38
6. Sepp Kuss (aus) + 9.16
7. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 10.11
8. Simon Yates (gbr) + 10.48
9. David Gaudu (fra) + 14.07
10. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 14.18

Race report
Alexey Lutsenko and Julian Alaphilippe attack from a huge breakaway on the Col des Fleuries. The other attackers are reeled in before 36 riders go after the two leaders. The peloton keeps chasing until a filming spectator takes down tens of riders, causing the group to slow down.

The chase group – Wout van Aert, Marc Soler, Omar Fraile, Olivier Le Gac, Thibaut Pinot, Andrey Amador, Magnus Cort, Neilson Powless, Rigoberto Uran, Mikel Landa, Wout Poels, Marco Haller, Patrick Konrad, Nils Politt, Giulio Ciccone, Mattias Skjelmose, Juan Pedro López, Nans Peters, Mathieu van der Poel, Søren Kragh Andersen, Rui Costa, Guillaume Martin, Ion Izagirre, Alex Aranburu, Chris Hamilton, Michael Woods, Hugo Houle, Krists Neilands, Dylan Teuns, Lawson Craddock, Luka Mezgec, Christopher Juul-Jensen, Warren Barguil, Simon Guglielmi, Jonas Abrahamsen, Torstein Træen, Mathieu Burgaudeau – rejoin the two leaders with 86 kilometres remaining. Their maximum lead exceeds 8 minutes.

Haller strikes in the run-up to the Col de la Croix Fry, while Costa overhauls him on the climb. The remnants of the chase group track him down in the last 2 kilometres of the ascent. Ciccone wins the KOM sprint at the top.

Soler attacks from the lead group on the Col des Aravis. Van Aert, Neilands and Poels go after him in the last kilometre of the climb and they catch him on descent. The Latvian rider hits the deck, so the lead group is down to three.

Van Aert, Poels and Soler open up a gap of more than 1 minute before the first two put pressure on Soler in the descent to Côte des Amerands. Poels attacks on the early slopes and he reaches the summit with a lead of 35 seconds.

Van Aert drops Soler on the climb to the line, while Poels widens his lead. Meanwhile, UAE Emirates sets the pace in the GC group until only Vingegaard remains in the wheels of Yates and Pogacar.

Poels takes the win and Yates rides away from Pogacar and Vingegaard on the lower slopes. But when Pogacar speeds up in the last kilometre, the Briton is caught. Vingegaard follows the move and he retains the yellow jersey.

Another interesting read: route 15th stage 2023 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023 stage 15: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout Poels

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 15: Climb fest in shadow of Mont Blanc - Tour de France 2023 The Route - Tour de France 2023 Riders - Tour de France 2023 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2023 Results - Tour de France 2023 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!