Tour de France: Winners and records

Egan Bernal 2019 - Tour de France: Winners and recordsThe Tour de France is the holy grail of cycling. Winning a stage or even wearing the yellow jersey for a day can make a career. Wearing a jersey into Paris can make a life. presents La Grande Boucle's recent winners and record holders.

The Tour de France has 4 jerseys on offer for the various competitions that take place within the race. The most prestigious jersey is the yellow jersey of the GC leader, which unfortunately has been tainted on a few occasions since the turn of the century (see table below). The green jersey is the points classification sought after by sprinters and classics men. The polka dot jersey recognizes the rider who obtains the most mountain points, while the white jersey is a GC for riders under 26.

Jaar GC Points classification KOM classification Best Young Rider
2019 Egan Bernal Peter Sagan Romain Bardet Egan Bernal
2018 Geraint Thomas Peter Sagan Julian Alaphilippe Pierre Latour
2017 Chris Froome Michael Matthews Warren Barguil Simon Yates
2016 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Rafal Majka Adam Yates
2015 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Chris Froome Nairo Quintana
2014 Vincenzo Nibali Peter Sagan Rafal Majka Thibaut Pinot
2013 Chris Froome Peter Sagan Nairo Quintana Nairo Quintana
2012 Bradley Wiggins Peter Sagan Thomas Voeckler Tejay van Garderen
2011 Cadel Evans Mark Cavendish Samuel Sanchez Pierre Rolland
2010 Andy Schleck * Alessandro Petacchi Anthony Charteau Andy Schleck
2009 Alberto Contador Thor Hushovd Egoi Martinez Andy Schleck
2008 Carlos Sastre Óscar Freire Bernhard Kohl Andy Schleck
2007 Alberto Contador Tom Boonen Mauricio Soler Alberto Contador
2006 Óscar Pereiro Robbie McEwen Michael Rasmussen Damiano Cunego
2005 no winner ** Thor Hushovd Michael Rasmussen Jaroslav Popovitsj
2004 no winner ** Robbie McEwen Richard Virenque Vladimir Karpets
2003 no winner ** Baden Cooke Richard Virenque Denis Mentsjov
2002 no winner ** Robbie McEwen Laurent Jalabert Ivan Basso
2001 no winner ** Erik Zabel Laurent Jalabert Óscar Sevilla
2000 no winner ** Erik Zabel Santiago Botero Franciso Mancebo

* Initially Alberto Contador was the winner. He had to give back his title after charges of doping.

** Lance Armstrong’s victories (1999 t/m 2005) have been taken from him due to the use of doping. No new winner was declared.

Tour de France Records

Four riders remain in the record books for having won the Tour de France five times: Eddy Merckx, Bernhard Hinault, Miguel Indurain and Jacques Anquetil .

Anquetil pulled off the unthinkable in 1961 when he held the yellow jersey from the first day of the race right up until the end.

Pater Sagan holds the record for green jersey wins with seven.

Richard Virenque is the King of the Mountains in the Tour de France. He won the polka dot jersey 4 times in a row from 1994-1997, and added a further three jerseys in 1999, 2003 and 2004.

Andy Schleck and Jan Ullrich both won the white jersey three times and share the record.

In 1969, Eddy Merckx won the yellow jersey, the green jersey and the polka dot jersey, the only man ever to do so in a single Tour de France. He also has the most stage wins with 34. Mark Cavendish powered to a stage win on 30 occasions.

The youngest winner ever was Henri Cornet, winning the 1904 Tour at 19 years of age. The oldest winner is Firmin Lambot, who was 36 years when he won in 1922.

Cadel Evans is the oldest winner post WWII – in 2011 he was 34 when he finally won his yellow jersey after years of trying.

Egan Bernal is the youngest post-WW2 Tour de France winner. In 2019 he was 22 years, 6 months and 15 days.

Alberto ContadorChris FroomeBradley WigginsGeraint ThomasVincenzo Nibali. Egan Bernal

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Withdrawals - Tour de France 2019 Riders and teams - Tour de France 2019 Thinking Bike - The Most Memorable Tour de France Moments So Far Enter Tour de France pool with main prize of 3,000 euros GC Favourites - Tour de France 2019 Preview - Tour de France 2019 Accidents & Misfortune Take Centre Stage Ahead of 2019 Tour de France Visit the Tour de France
More articles