Ruta del Sol 2020: Serrano wins steep finale, Fuglsang keeps race lead

The 2nd stage on the Ruta del Sol is played out on a lumpy route with a steep and narrow finale. Gonzalo attacks just before the flamme rouge and solos to victory, while Jakob Fuglsang keeps the race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Ruta del Sol 2020

1. Gonzalo Serrano (spa)
2. Juan José Lobato (spa) + 0.02
3. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
4. Clément Venturini (fra) + 0.04
5. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
6. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
7. Edward Planckaert (bel) s.t.
8. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.
9. Andrea Pasqualon (ita) s.t.
10. Marc Soler (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.06
3. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 0.23
4. Jack Haig (aus) + 0.27
5. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.30
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
7. Chris Harper (aus) + 1.00
8. Harm Vanhoucke (bel) + 1.09
9. Ruben Fernandez (spa) + 1.13
10. David de la Cruz (spa) + 1.14

Race report
Attackers Matthew Holmes, Alexis Gougeard, Jerome Cousin, Taco van der Hoorn and Juan Osorio open up a gap of more than 6 minutes before the peloton reacts.

Van der Hoorn heads out alone with 15 kilometres remaining. But the main group is close behind and Louis Vervaeke and Tomasz Marczynski go on the counterattack. But without success. Same story for Brandon McNulty and Stefano Oldani.

A steep incline with 1.3 kilometres to go opens the finale. Serrano Gonzalo attacks just before the flamme rouge and opens a considerable gap. It is enough to hold off the sprinting peloton when the climbs levels out in the last 500 metres.

Jakob Fugsang keeps the race lead, although Dylan Teuns wins 2 seconds by finishing third on the stage.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2020 Ruta del Sol.

Ruta del Sol 2020 stage 2: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Gonzalo Serrano

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Ruta del Sol 2020 Overview - Ruta del Sol 2020 Teuns wins ITT, Fuglsang seals GC victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Haig bests Landa and Fugslang in three-up sprint - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fuglsang cements GC lead with Queen Stage victory - Ruta del Sol 2020 Fugslang bests Landa to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 1: Alhaurín de la Torre - Grazalema - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 3: Jaén - Úbeda - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 4: Villanueva Mesía - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2020 Route stage 5: Mijas - Mijas - Ruta del Sol 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!