Ruta del Sol 2019: Sprint victory Trentin in last stage, Fuglsang wins GC

The final stage of the Ruta del Sol travels through the middle mountains to a false flat finish in Alhaurín de la Torre. Matto Trentin powers to victory, while Jakob Fuglsang seals the overall win. Ion Izagirre and Steven Kruijswijk round out the podium. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Ruta del Sol

1. Matteo Trentin (ita)
2. Enrique Sánz (spa) s.t.
3. Carlos Barbero (spa) s.t.
4. Tosh Van Der Sande (bel) s.t.
5. Colin Joyce (usa) s.t.
6. Matej Mohoric (rus) s.t.
7. Juan José Lobato (spa) s.t.
8. Lars Boom (nld) s.t.
9. Eduard Prades (spa) s.t.
10. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 5
1. Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.07
3. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.11
4. Pello Bilbao (spa)+ 0.21
5. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.57
6. Jack Haig (aus) + 1.08
7. Sergio Higuita (col) + 1.12
8. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 1.43
9. Tim Wellens (bel) + 2.53
10. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 3.41

Stage report
Following an opening with a lot of movement Simon Yates forms the breakaway with Antwan Tolhoek, Oscar Riesebeek and Tomasz Marczynski. The quartet races to a lead of more than 4 minutes before the peloton takes control.

With 32 kilometres remaining the leader are almost reeled in and Yates decides to push on alone. A little later the Vuelta Champion is caught and Fausto Masnada takes over. The Italian is caught with 18 kilometres remaining.

In the ensuing sprint Matteo Trentin kicks away on the uphill straight and a bike length ahead of Enrique Sánz and Carlos Barbero. Jakob Fuglsang finishes safely in the bunch to seal the first Danish victory in the early season race in the deep south of Spain.

Another interesting read: route final stage 2019 Ruta del Sol 2019.

Ruta del Sol 2019 stage 5: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Matteo TrentinJakob Fuglsang

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Ruta del Sol 2019 Overview - Ruta del Sol 2019 Simon Yates wins Queen Stage, Jakob Fuglsang new leader - Ruta del Sol 2019 Wellens cements GC lead with ITT win - Ruta del Sol 2019 Sprint victory Trentin, Wellens retains lead - Ruta del Sol 2019 Defending champion Tim Wellens wins 1st stage - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 1: Sanlúcar de Barrameda – Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Torredonjimeno - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - La Guardia de Jaén - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 4: Armilla - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!