Renewi Tour 2023: Mohoric wins final stage, Wellens seal GC triumph

Matej Mohoric - Renewi Tour 2023: Mohoric wins final stage, Wellens seal GC triumphfoto: Cor VosSøren Kragh Andersen, Jasper De Buyst, Jasper Stuyven, Matteo Trentin and Matej Mohoric attack just before the flamme rouge from a lead group. Mohoric sprints to triumph, while Tim Wellens seals the overall victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage 2023 Renewi Tour

1. Matej Mohoric (slo)
2. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
3. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) s.t.
4. Jasper De Buyst (bel) s.t.
5. Arnaud De Lie (bel) + 0.04
6. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.04
7. Jasper Philipsen (bel) + 0.04
8. Mike Teunissen (nld) + 0.04
9. Axel Zingle (lux) + 0.04
10. Yves Lampaert (bel) + 0.04

Final GC
1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Florian Vermeersch (bel) + 0.23
3. Yves Lampaert (bel) s.t.
4. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.30
5. Mike Teunissen (nld) + 0.31
6. Marc Hirschi (swi) s.t.
7. Matej Mohoric (slo) + 0.33
8. Axel Zingle (lux) + 0.34
9. Matteo Trentin (ita) + 0.36
10. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) + 0.40

Race report
The riders are 10 kilometres underway when Senne Leysen, Nicolò Buratti, Cameron Wurf, Luke Plapp, Dušan Rajovic, Andrey Amador, Olivier Le Gac, Derek Gee and Karl Patrick Lauk jump off the front. The nine carve out a 4 minutes lead.

The leaders are caught with some 30 kilometres remaining before a group of 16 men head out inside the last 15 kilometres.

Stuyven attacks just before the flamme rouge. Kragh Andersen, Mohoric, Trentin and De Buyst go with him. While the initiator of the decisive move loses speed, it comes down to a sprint of four. Mohoric takes the spoils ahead of Trentin.

Wellens wins the Renewi Tour for the third time in his career, which makes him record holder.

Renewi Tour 2023, stage 5: route & profile

Click on the images to zoom

Tim WellensMatej Mohoric

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Sprint triumph Welsford, Wellens still leader - Renewi Tour 2023 Teunissen wins in Geraardsbergen, Wellens new leader - Renewi Tour 2023 ITT-triumph and leaders's jersey for Tarling - Renewi Tour 2023 Start times Sluis ITT - Renewi Tour 2023 Philipsen sprints to first leader's jersey - Renewi Tour 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!