Paris-Nice 2022 Route stage 7: Nice - Col de Turini

Paris-Nice 2022 stage 7Saturday 12 March - The Queen Stage of Paris-Nice finishes on top of the Col de Turini. The finish climb is a 14.9 kilometres toil at 7.3%, while the race totals 155.5 kilometres.

The spectacular Turini Pass featured once before on Paris-Nice. In 2019, early attacker Daniel Felipe Martínez won the stage ahead of Miguel Ángel López. Egan Bernal completed the Colombian party by moving into the overall race lead. He sealed the GC victory the next day.

So the Turini Pass is far from a household name in Paris-Nice, possibly because of the elevation (1,607 metres). The high mountains easily turn into a grim and unwelcoming place this early in the season. The ascent is 14.9 kilometres long while its average slope sits at 7.3%. The mountain road is narrow and curvy with a dizzying series of hairpins.

The run-up to the finish climb is – contrary to three years ago – not very remarkable. Back then, the route crossed five passes before reaching the Turini; this time the only noteworthy obstacle is the Côte de Coursegoules. The 8.1 kilometres climb at 4.9% is crested after 55 kilometres, so with 100 kilometres left to go.

The rest of the route is flat to undulating, until the TuriniPass appears after roughly 140 kilometres.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while two intermediate sprints – at kilometre 57.4 and at kilometre 144.3 – come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds. Note: the last bonus sprint is on the early slopes of the Turini Pass.

Ride the route yourself? Download GPX stage 7.

Another interesting read: results 7th stage 2022 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2022 stage 7: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Primoz Roglic

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Paris - Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Yates wins thriller race, Roglic takes GC - Paris - Nice 20 Close win Burgaudeau, Roglic stays in yellow - Paris - Nice 20 Solo victory McNulty, Roglic new leader - Paris - Nice 20 Stage 4: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Van Aert powers to ITT win and leader's jersey - Paris - Nice 20 Mads Pedersen wins uphill sprint, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Jakobsen outsprints Van Aert, Laporte still leader - Paris - Nice 20 Laporte wins ahead of Roglic and Van Aert - Paris - Nice 20 Route stage 1: Mantes-la-Ville - Mantes-la-Ville - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Auffargis - Orléans - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Vierzon - Dun-le-Palestel - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Domérat - Montluçon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert - Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Courthézon - Aubagne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Nice - Nice - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!