La Flèche Wallonne 2020: Favourites

Julian Alaphilippe picked up the Flèche Wallonne baton in 2018 after Alejandro Valverde had been imperious for years. But both riders are not attanding this year. Who are the major contenders to win La Flèche Wallonne in 2020?

The last six editions were won by either Alaphilippe or Valverde and they did it in similar styles. So Alaphilippe owes the old master. Just patiently waiting in the pack to sprint to victory when the Wall of Huy flattens out in the last few hundred metres.

Apart from Valverde and Alaphilippe, few active riders have ever won La Flèche Wallonne. In fact, Philippe Gilbert (2011), Daniel Moreno (2013) and Davide Rebellin (2004, 2007, 2009) are the only ones. But neither of tem will be parcipiating this year.

It will be interesting to watch the dynamics of the race with the two big men not attending. Possibly Marc Hirschi tries to win the race Valverde-style. He is a punchy climber with a strong finish. On the other hand, Adam Yates might be able to drop the Swiss Tour de France revelation on the climb itself…

Favourites 2020 La Flèche Wallonne

*** Marc Hirschi, Adam Yates, Tadej Pogacar
** Wout Poels, Tim Wellens, Michal Kwiatkowski, Sepp Kuss
* Dylan Teuns, Tom Dumoulin, Sergio Higuita, Iván Sosa, Alexis Vuillermoz

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - La Flèche Wallonne 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!