Giro d’Italia: Winners and records

Tadej Pogacar giro - Giro d'Italia: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosThe Giro d’Italia began in 1909 in a bid to increase sales for La Gazzetta dello Sport. Italian riders dominated the early decades of the race but that changed from the 60's onward. presents the recent winners and record holders from Italy's grand tour.

Just like the Tour de France, the Giro has seen it’s fair share of controversy with regular changes to the record books due to doping offences. Riders like Ricco, Basso, Sella and Di Luca have brought shame on their home race but more recent editions of the Corsa Rosa are being remembered for the right reasons.

With jerseys up for grabs for GC, mountains, sprints (points) and riders under 26, there are many intriguing battles taking place over the course of the three weeks.

Year GC Points KOM Best young rider
2024 Tadej Pogacar Jonathan Milan Tadej Pogacar Antonio Tiberi
2023 Primoz Roglic Jonathan Milan Thibaut Pinot João Almeida
2022 Jai Hindley Arnaud Démare Koen Bouwman Juan Pedro López
2021 Egan Bernal Peter Sagan Geoffrey Bouchard Egan Bernal
2020 Tao Geoghegan Hart Arnaud Démare Ruben Guerreiro Tao Geoghegan Hart
2019 Richard Carapaz Pascal Ackermann Giulio Ciccone Miguel Ángel López
2018 Chris Froome Elia Viviani Chris Froome Miguel Ángel López
2017 Tom Dumoulin Fernando Gaviria Mikel Landa Bob Jungels
2016 Vincenzo Nibali Giacomo Nizzolo Mikel Nieve Bob Jungels
2015 Alberto Contador Giacomo Nizzolo Giovanni Visconti Fabio Aru
2014 Nairo Quintana Nacer Bouhanni Julian Arredondo Nairo Quintana
2013 Vincenzo Nibali Mark Cavendish Stefano Pirazzi Carlos Betancur
2012 Ryder Hesjedal Joaquím Rodríguez Matteo Rabottini Rigoberto Urán
2011 Michele Scarponi Michele Scarponi Stefano Garzelli Roman Kreuziger
2010 Ivan Basso Cadel Evans Matthew Lloyd Richie Porte
2009 Denis Mensjov Danilo Di Luca * Stefano Garzelli Kevin Seeldraeyers
2008 Alberto Contador Daniele Bennati Emanuele Sella * Riccardo Riccò
2007 Danilo Di Luca Alessandro Petacchi Leonardo Piepoli Andy Schleck
2006 Ivan Basso Paolo Bettini Juan Manuel Gárate n/a
2005 Paolo Savoldelli Paolo Bettini José Rujano n/a
2004 Damiano Cunego Alessandro Petacchi Fabian Wegmann n/a
2003 Gilberto Simoni Gilberto Simoni Freddy González n/a
2002 Paolo Savoldelli Mario Cipollini Julio Alberto Pérez Cuapio n/a
2001 Gilberto Simoni Massimo Strazzer Freddy González n/a
2000 Stefano Garzelli Dmitri Konysjev Francesco Casagrande n/a

Record holders in the Giro d’Italia

Three riders have won the Giro d’Italia five times. Namely Alfredo Binda and Fausto Coppi from Italy and Eddy Merckx, the Cannibal, from Belgium.

Mario Cipollini took by far the most stage wins: 42.

Merckx’s closet has the most pink jerseys – he wore the maglia rosa on 77 occasions.

Giro-Tour double

Most current riders admit it is too difficult to pull off the Giro-Tour double. Those who did manage the double are Fausto Coppi (twice), Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx (thrice), Bernard Hinault (twice), Stephen Roche, Miguel Indurain (twice) and Marco Pantani.

Alberto ContadorChris FroomePeter SaganNairo QuintanaVincenzo NibaliTom DumoulinArnaud DemareThibaut PinotElia VivianiPrimoz RoglicMiguel Angel LopezKoen BouwmanEgan BernalTao Geoghegan HartPascal AckermannRichard CarapazTadej PogacarGiulio CicconeRuben GuerreiroJai HindleyGeoffrey BouchardJoão AlmeidaJuan Pedro LópezJonathan MilanAntonio Tiberi

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Riders - Giro 2024 GC Favourites - Giro 2024
More articles