Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Sosa wins last stage, GC victory Evenepoel

Iván Sosa wins the the last stage of the Vuelta a Burgos with a decisive attack in the last 600 metres of the Lagunas de Neila climb. Mikel Landa and Remco Evenepoel finish second and third. The Flemish youngster wins the overall classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Vuelta a Burgos 2020

1. Iván Sosa (col)
2. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.09
3. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 0.11
4. João Almeida (por) + 0.38
5. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 0.43
6. Rafal Majka (pol) + 0.44
7. David Gaudu (fra) + 0.58
8. Esteban Chaves (col)+ 1.02
9. Simon Yates (gbr) + 1.10
10. David de la Cruz (spa) + 1.12

Final GC
1. Remco Evenepoel (bel)
2. Mikel Landa (spa) 0.30
3. João Almeida (por) ) + 1.12
4. Esteban Chaves (col) + 1.26
5. George Bennett (nzl) + 1.40
6. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 1.58
7. Ben Hermans (bel) + 2.25
8. David de la Cruz (spa) + 2.34
9. Fabio Aru (ita) + 2.36
10. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 3.00

Race report
After around 30 kilometres Daniel Navarro, Ángel Madrazo, Arjen Livyns, Delio Fernández and Joel Nicolau make the decisive move to establish the breakaway. The six race to a lead of more than 6 minutes clear.

The attackers are brought back before the finish climb.

Landa goes alone inside the last 3.2 kilometres. Chaves, Evenepoel and Sosa bridge across.

Just before the flamme rouge Evenepoel opens up a gap, but Sosa and Landa bring the leader back. Sosa makes the decisive move with 600 metres to go. He wins the race with a comfortable margin ahead Landa with Evenepoel in third.

The Flemish youngster takes the GC, while Landa and Evenepoel’s team mate Almeida round out the podium.

Another interesting read: route final stage 2020 Vuelta a Burgos.

Vuelta a Burgos 2020 stage 5: route, profile, finale

Click on the images to zoom

Ivan Sosa

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Power triumph Sam Bennett, Evenepoel still leader Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Evenepoel takes GC lead at Picón Blanco Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Sprint triumph Gaviria, Großschartner remains leader Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Großschartner climbs to first leader's jersey Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 1: Burgos - Burgos Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 2: Castrojeriz - Villadiego Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 3: Sargentes de la Lora - Picón Blanco Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 4: Gumiel de Izán - Roa de Duero Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 5: Covarrubias - Lagunas de Neila Vuelta a Burgos 2021: The Route Vuelta a Burgos 2021: Riders Vuelta a Burgos 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!