Volta a Catalunya 2019: Formolo wins exciting final race, López takes GC

The Volta a Catalunya concludes with a trying circuit race on Alto de Montjuïc in Barcelona. Runner-up Adam Yates bravely attacks to put pressure on leader Miguel Ángel López , but he is caught inside the last 3 kilometres. Meanwhile, Davide Formolo solos to victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage Volta a Catalunya 2019

1. Davide Formolo (ita)
2. Enric Mas (spa) + 0.51
3. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 0.53
4. Dion Smith (nzl) + 0.55
5. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
6. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
7. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
8. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
9. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
10. Michael Woods (can) s.t.

GC after stage 7
1. Miguel Ángel López (col)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.14
3. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.17
4. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.25
5. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.56
6. Michael Woods (can) + 1.42
7. Rafal Majka (pol) + 2.27
8. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 2.41
9. Enric Mas (spa) + 2.49
10. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 3.02

Race report
Thomas De Gendt initiates the breakaway with Carlos Verona, James Knox, Davide Formolo, Alexis Gougeard, Alexandr Riabushenko, Danilo Wyss, Patrick Bevin, Jesús Herrada, Fernando Barcelò and Nick Van der Lijke. The eleven carve out a lead of 4 minutes, while De Gendt cements his KOM lead at the Coll de la Creu d’Ordal.

The gap has fallen to 2 minutes when the lead group hits the Barcelona circuit. Davide Formolo goes solo. A crash forces Marc Soler and Romain Bardet to abandon.

Inside the last 35 kilometres Simon Yates strikes and Nairo Quintana, Michael Woods, Iván Sosa and Andrey Zeits jump to his wheel. Verona waits for his leader Quintana to join them.

They are brought back by the main group after a 10 kilometres chase before the Yates brothers strike together. They rejoin Knox and put 40 seconds into the peloton. Eventually Adam pushes on alone.

With one lap to go Formolo leads 42 seconds ahead of Adam Yates, while the peloton is chasing at 1.12 minutes.

Yates’ attack is neutralised inside the last 3 kilometres and Mas goes on the counter-attack. Formolo powers on to win the stage ahead of the Spaniard. Schachmann jumps clear in the last kilometre and finishes in third.

Miguel Ángel López wins the 2019 Volta a Catalunya ahead of Adam Yates and Egan Bernal.

Another interesting read: route 7th stage Volta a Catalunya 2019.

Volta a Catalunya 2019 stage 7: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Davide Formolo

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Matthews bests Bauhaus in photo finish, López still leader - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Schachmann solos to victory, López retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 New leader López wins in la Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Adam Yates wins in Vallter 2000, De Gendt holds on to GC lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Power victory Matthews, De Gendt retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 De Gendt wins 1st stage solo - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 1: Calella – Calella - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 2: Mataró – Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 3: Sant Feliu de Guíxols – Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 4: Llanars (Vall de Camprodon) – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 5: Puigcerdà – Sant Cugat del Vallès - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 6: Valls – Vila-seca - Volta a Catalunya 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!