Volta a Catalunya 2018 Stage 7: Simon Yates solos to victory, Alejandro Valverde wins GC

The Volta Catalunya's ultimate stage detonates the fireworks on the hilly circuit in Barcelona. Simon Yates solos to the win, while Alejandro Valverde pockets the overall victory. Egan Bernal crashes out of contention and the podium is rounded out by Nairo Quintana and Pierre Latour. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage 2018 Volta a Catalunya

1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Marc Soler (spa) + 0.13
3. Pierre Latour (fra) + 0.18
4. Jarlinson Pantano (col) s.t.
5. Jay McCarthy (aus) s.t.
6. Matej Mohoric (slo) s.t.
7. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
8. Warren Barguil (fra) s.t.
9. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
10. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.

Final GC 2018 Volta a Catalunya

1. Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.29
3. Pierre Latour (fra) + 0.47
4. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
5. Marc Soler (spa) + 1.10
6. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
7. Daniel Felipe Martinez (spa) + 1.29
8. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
9. Jesper Hansen (den) s.t.
10. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 1.34

Race report
Plenty of attacks until the first climb, Coll d’Ullastrell, but none of them successful. Valverde seizes the opportunity and is the first rider to reach the crest, thus pocketing thus year’s mountain’s jersey.

In Castelldefels’ intermediate sprint Valverde takes 1 bonus second before he adds another 2 in
El Prat de Llobregat. Bernal wins 1 second in this second sprint, so the leader and the runner-up are now 18 seconds apart.

On the circuit Mohoric, Tankink, Narvaez, Frohlinger, Rolland, Smit, Torres and Schultz open up a gap. Impey bridges across.

When the breakaway is almost caught a group of four pushes on: Impey, Mohoric, Schultz and Narvaez. Soler, Henao, Mas and Yates hook on, too. Time differences remain small and following some changes Bob Jungels, Carlos Verano, Matej Mohoric and Marc Soler are leading. Alejandro Valverde jumps clear in the main group and Egan Bernal rejoins him. And that’s the way the race further unfolds. Attacks keep flying and riders are fighting for every metre. In the penultimate lap Rojas hits the tarmac and takes down Bernal, who is forced to leave the race in an ambulance.

Simon Yates and Marc Soler are leading the race with one lap left. The Briton propels away on the last climb up the Montjuic. He opens up a gap of half a minute and seals the stage win.

Pierre Latour sprints to second place and thanks to a time bonus of 6 seconds he finishes the Volta a Catalunya in third, behind Nairo Quintana and the Unbeatable Alejandro Valverde.

Read also: route 7th stage 2018 Volta a Catalunya.

Volta a Catalunya 2018 stage 7: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Alejandro ValverdeSimon Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 20 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 6: Schachmann bests Rubio in two-up sprint, Valverde still leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 5: Pantano brings early break home, Valverde still leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 4: Valverde wins and moves into overall lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 3: De Gendt solos to leader's jersey - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 2: Valverde sprints to victory and leader's jersey - Volta a Catalunya 20 Stage 1: Álvaro José Hodeg sprints to leader's jersey - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 1: Calella - Calella - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 2: Mataró - Valls - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Sant Cugat del Vallès - Camprodon - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: Llanars - La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: Llívia - Vielha e Mijaran - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: La Pobla de Segur - Torrefarrera - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!