UAE Tour 2021: Bennett sprints to second triumph, Pogacar still leader

Sam Bennett uae - UAE Tour 2021: Bennett sprints to second triumph, Pogacar still leaderimage: Cor VosSam Bennett outsprints Elia Viviani and Pascal Ackermann on Palm Jumeirah, while Tadej Pogacar finishes safely in the bunch to keep the overall race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage UAE Tour 2021

1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Elia Viviani (ita) s.t.
3. Pascal Ackermann (ger) s.t.
4. David Dekker (nld) s.t.
5. Fernando Gaviria (col) s.t.
6. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
7. Kaden Groves (aus) s.t.
8. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
9. Cees Bol (nld) s.t.
10. Michael Mørkøv (den) s.t.

GC after stage 6
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.45
3. João Almeida (por) + 1.12
4. Chris Harper (aus) + 1.54
5. Neilson Powless (usa) + 1.56
6. Mattias Jensen (den) + 2.47
7. Damiano Caruso (ita) + 2.49
8. Mattia Cattaneo (ita) + 4.03
9. Ruben Fernandez (spa) + 4.23
10. Fausto Masnada (ita) + 6.40

Race report
Tony Gallopin, Matthieu Ladagnous, Alexey Lutsenko and Iñigo Elosegui jump clear shortly after the start, while LL Sánchez and Attila Valter bridge across a little later. The six open up a gap of more than 3 minutes.

The peloton brings the leaders back with 25 kilometres remaining, inspiring Dmitriy Gruzdev to go solo. The Kazakh rider doesn’t make it into the final 10 kilometres.

In the ensuing bunch sprint Sam Bennett once again is fastest. Elia Viviani and Pascal Ackermann finish in second and third.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage 2021 UAE Tour.

UAE Tour 2021 – stage 6: route, profile, tweets

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - UAE Tour 20 Overview - UAE Tour 20 Ewan outguns Bennett, Pogacar wins GC - UAE Tour 20 Vingegaard wins on Jebel Jais, Pogacar keeps GC lead - UAE Tour 20 Sprint triumph Bennett, Pogacar still leader - UAE Tour 20 Pogacar bests Yates in two-up sprint to cement lead - UAE Tour 20 Ganna powers to ITT win, Pogacar new leader - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 1: Al Dhafra Castle - Al Mirfa - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 2: Al Hudayriat – Al Hudayriat - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 3: Al Ain - Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 4: Al Marjan Island - Al Marjan Island - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 5: Fujairah - Jebel Jais - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 7: Yas Island - Abu Dhabi - UAE Tour 20 Van der Poel sprints to first leader's jersey - UAE Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!